Come and learn about living in a sustainable household in Decatur, Georgia, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    63.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our Home & Location
    We live in a one story 1600 sq. ft. home that we call the "cottage" in Decatur, Georgia, USA. We take great pride in having created a peaceful oasis for ourselves with a front lawn and ample back garden where we now have turned into a living “farm” full of fruit trees, fruit plants, and veggies! You are welcome to all ripe produce. Organic and NONGMO.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like to barbecue on our big green egg, roast marshmallows, and take beautiful walks! Hopefully you'll enjoy the same!

    Learn what it takes to run a sustainable living household and the simple life while living in a metropolitan area.

  • Help

    Help

    We are simply looking for a person/couple that is/are:

    -Honest
    -Responsible
    -Compassionate
    -Clean
    -Adventurous
    -Communicative
    -Garden Loving

    It would be a big big plus if you’ve carpentry skills, not necessary as the help needed is basic but if you do have some skill then particular projects would be easier done.

    Responsibilities (NO Pets)

    Garden help: Water and weed the garden, make sure to harvest ripe produce and watch for pests.

    House Repair: We would welcome some help with completely removing sanding the paint on 3 sides of the house and possibly painting.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Albanian: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Home, (you get a private one-bedroom) right off a gorgeous sunroom encircled with windows. Patio deck has a tin roof and wonderful seating, perfect for listening to the rain or people watching. For the nature lovers we have a Front garden and backyard filled with edible plants as well as pretty flowers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    So much to do with time off as there is a park nearby, hiking trails, local farmers markets, within a few hours or less you can be at lakes or in the mountains. It’s the perfect balance of city and country life.

    We live simple but very beautiful lives. Tending to a garden and enjoying the presence of our lovely neighbors while writing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 755256488225