You are interested in native american culture and history? Help us with our tribal non-profit in Pipestone, Minnesota, USA


United States

Favourited 354 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are the Keepers of the Sacred Tradition of Pipemakers and we are a non-profit american Indian organization in Pipestone MN with members from many tribes from the US, Canada and Central America. Pipestone is known as the crossroads of the Indian world. Our Mission is to educate the public (tribal as well as non tribal) about our native culture and protect the pipestone quarries for all Tribal people.

    The town of Pipestone is famous for their stone which is used by many of the tribes to make their pipes. We run a gift shop in Pipestone where we sell pipes and various American Indian art and craft supplies, gift items and much more. We also do presentations and workshops including pipemaking. We have taught various traditional craft classes and also run a culture camp where you can learn about tribal culture including cooking, arts and craft and storytelling.

    You will be staying with our family which includes a 13 year old daughter who is home schooled. We live on a small farm in the country with horses, cats, chickens and a dog. We have good internet access at home and in our gift shop.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We hope to share some of what we know with those who host with us and depending on how long you stay you can even learn some native arts or crafts. We are a Native American Indian family who embrace our culture and spirituality. I am enrolled Cherokee and my Husband Bud and daughter Camas are enrolled Bad River Band of Lake Superior Chippewa. We hope that we can also learn a little from our volunteers about where they are from and thing that they do and enjoy. Life is beautiful and Creator brings many blessings with each day and with each person we meet.

  • Help


    Volunteers are an important part of our organization and it is a great way to give back to the community we all live in. for many years we are supported by many people from around the world. This gives a great opportunity to learn from each other.

    We need people to help in our gift shop in Pipestone Mn. and people to help us on our farm in Garretson SD Volunteers can do a variety of jobs from helping in our gift shop, social network support, cleaning, help in the office, writing, documentation, gardening, setting up tipis, building, repairs to our old brick building, home schooling our daughter and more.
    You might really enjoy volunteering in the summer when we travel and do presentations and we need lots of help during our annual gathering which is usually the 4th week in July. Our gathering is a get together of Native American and non native people wanting to learn more about our tribal ways and spirituality.

    We prefer people who want to stay with us at least 2 weeks up to several months. Please only non smoking Volunteers. We hope you are interested in sharing and learning.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We have a spare room and bunk at our home and a room and bunk attached to the gift shop in Pipestone. You are welcome to eat with us in fact we prefer this. In our Native culture eating together is an important activity which brings them together creating bonds.We eat mostly organic food and grow a big garden every year and can accommodate most food allergies and special diets. I am a vegetarian with a gluten, dairy allergy, and allergies to many additives and preservatives. My husband Bud isn't a vegetarian we serve meat most days. I do not want unhealthy junk food in my home as a general rule, but during celebrations we do cheat a little.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our winter weather can be very cold and our summers can be hot. There are many things to see in the local area. We live in South Dakota 30 minutes from Sioux Falls. Pipestone is 1-hour drive from a large city and only has 4500 people. Things our volunteers have done in the spare time include learn beadwork, make a leather bag, carve pipestone, attend local events, drive in theater, Mall of American (4 hour by car away), museums, zoo, just hang out and talk, play board games (Catan, Ascension, Terra Mystica , Carcassonne.) Also, lots of space to take walks through a small town, the prairie and a large private wooded area on our farm.

    For those who might be interested in bringing a family. Our space is better suited to families with 1 or 2 children and we ask that all the children follow the family rules. These include a 1 hour a day electronic rule for games and TV unless they are part of homeschooling. More can be earned by doing extra school work or jobs. For the meal we require everyone to eat together and that everyone stays at the table till all are done, everyone helps out setting the table, cleaning up after meals and everyone can choose one food they do not like to eat and I will make sure that foods are made without that food. Everyone will also help out with at least one other job each week and keep all their things cleaned up. I ask that all adults help the children stay on task and do their part. Camas goes to bed by 9 pm and ask that other children do the same and the activities should be quiet after that time, of course, there are always special occasions or one night a week where we might break that rule. I will give preference to other homeschool families because I want the kids to do schoolwork together. I think it will be good for all to learn from each other and I have experimented with a variety of homeschool ideas and am very open to my daughter learning to understand herself, the world and the things she needs to know to live a happy life. Also if bringing more than 1 child per 2 adults you will need to contribute to the food costs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 per day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 754979434826