Help us around the house and explore the beautiful island of O'ahu, United States

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 446 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Aloha!
    We are a family of 5! Two daughters age 11 and 2 and my son is 1.
    I currently work full time at a doctor's office and my husband recently transitioned out of the military and owns his own dive company and works for an excursion company. I enjoy hiking, exploring and beach laying (anything that has to do with living on an island!). My husband is a certified and insured dive instructor who loves to surf. We have formed a great community of friends on this island to provide an array of experiences during your time here !

    *Unfortunately at this time we are unable to host Workaway travelers that would need to quarantine due to my job. We are open to hosting Workaway travelers but travelers would be required to show a negative COVID test upon arrival. We appreciate your understanding during this time!*

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With Hawaii being part of the Polynesian island chain, there is rich history and museums all around the island ! Many places we have frequented or can explore without the need of guides such as the iconic Diamond Head crater or many of the pillbox hikes that were used during the World Wars, are free and accessible to explore. Also places like the Iolani palace, the only royal palace in the United States territory and the Bishop Museum, are places that can be visited at low cost to learn a lot about the island just a century ago when the island became part of the United States.

  • Help

    Help

    My husband and I are hoping for some new skills and/or language to learn through someone from another area of the world to instill a bit of wonder and want for travels in our children.

    We are looking for extra hands around the house and help with small home improvement projects before we move off island. A self starter is necessary that can recognize things that need to be done.

    This help may be driving or errands. There won't be much of a set schedule but there will be a task list of expectations with things to be completed, so we are flexible to your desire to explore the island but also expect that the help around the house be taken seriously and gets completed in a timely manner.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If you are traveling solo, the room *MAY* be shared with another workaway for a portion of your stay but is not for sure. We are open to hosting two workawayers at one time but *you will not be sharing a bed*, in our 3 bedroom 2 bath condo, shared hall bathroom (shared with my oldest daughter). Shared kitchen space, your main meals will be provided with our groceries unless you wanted other specific items that you could purchase on your own.

    *We have two small children so our house is NOT silent, if this is an expectation of yours, this is not the Workaway for you*
    I would love to learn some meals that are customary to you as well.
    There is a bus stop right outside of our neighborhood that is part of the island wide bus route. You have an option of purchasing a monthly bus pass or a daily bus pass for $5/day that will take you to any bus stops on island.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Since we are a family with small children, we would ask that you are respectful of quiet hours (after 8PM) but this does not mean you would have a curfew! We just ask that during the sleeping hours of the children that you are respectful of the noise level. Weekends we usually stay pretty active.
    There is also an island wide bus route that you could utilize for transportation if you were more comfortable taking that vs obtaining an international driver's license and insurance for a rental car. The bus stop is very close (right outside of our neighborhood) and is only $5 for unlimited stops/day. We are central on island so getting anywhere takes about the same time on the bus but you also have the option to utilize a service like Uber to get places faster.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 754365127346