Help out at our pet boarding hotel for cats and dogs in British Columbia

Country

Canada

Favourited 290 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    47  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE 4/8/2016 : looking for help with the horses. Must have experience !


    My husband and I own a mid-size pet boarding hotel for cats and dogs.

    We live within a 15 minute walking distance to the town of Armstrong. Our town has all the amenities of groceries, restaurants, pubs, and coffee shops. If you want more options you can walk 5 minutes to the bus station, or drive 20 minutes to the city of Vernon or 1 hour to the city of Kelowna. The area we live in is called the North Okanagan which is home to mountains, lakes, vineyards, natural hot springs, bike, riding, and hiking trails.

    We own 2 alpacas,3 sheep,and 4 horses 2 of which are rideable. We have access to trails from our home .You must be an intermediate level rider.
    We are mostly full for the 2016 spring/summer season helping in the hotel and are looking for 1 person with horse experience to help with keeping the horses exercised and training of a new young gelding. Even though our calendar shows as full we have room for one person with this profile. We can host long or short term starting in Feb. . These horses are kind and in good shape but need confidant riders.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for general help daily to help care for the animals eg. feeding, grooming, walking,playing with, and of course cleaning up after them.

    At the end of the day we all like to eat so if you like to cook we look forward to your input.

    In the winter it snows, so there is snow removal to be done. In the summer since all of our grounds are landscaped, there is gardening work to do.
    The spring of 2016 we will have some outdoor projects to do, putting in the garden, building a rabbit hutch ,and re-roofing the kennel building and house. We may also have some fence upgrading to do .

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom, 2 storey farmhouse on 7 acres of land. The 2 guest bedrooms are on the second floor and one room has an attached toilet and sink. The main bath is located on the first floor. It has a shower, jetted tub, sink, and toilet that would be shared if we have more than one guest.

    We also share our home with 4 miniature schnauzers, 2 macaw parrots, 2 cockatoo parrots, and a piano so it can be a little loud.

    We start work in the pet hotel at 8 AM each day, 7 days per week. There are set hours for the pet hotel each day with different tasks to be completed depending on the time of day.

    We have pedal bikes available for guests to use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live just outside of a vibrant small town with with bus service to 2 larger cities, close to shopping. The town of Armstrong has a swimming pool, and many independent small businesses for shopping.

    We are approximately 20 minutes (by car) from the city of Vernon where activities include movie theatres, bowling, shopping, swimming pools, and 1 hour (by car) to the larger center of Kelowna. There is an international airport located in the city of Kelowna.

    SilverStar mountain is 45 minutes away for winter sports, and is accessible by car and by bus. There are also numerous lakes and trails for summer activities. Numerous hiking and riding trails are accessible from our back door.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours

Workaway,s bathroom
One of our guest rooms.
Our living room.
Our living room.
Our living room.
One of our guest rooms.


























Host ref number: 753717741966