Help with ecobuilding and gardening in a little valley of Morvan nature park, France

Country

France

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/01/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    [En] I live on the forest fringe in the Morvan natural parc, in a house that is being renovated with ecological materials. The landscape is beautifull and its enjoyable to walk around in the forests and in the hills, following the ancient celtic ways.

    I play violin and love to dance traditionnal or folk danses aswell as improvisation and contact dance. As a job i edit a magazine about grassroot living, ecovillages and transition initiatives and i translate permaculture books.

    Allthough I am not 100% vegetarian, the food here is 100% vegetarian and mostly organic.

    [fr] J'habite en lisière de forêt dans une petite vallée du parc régional naturel du Morvan, dans une maison peu à peu rénovée en matériaux écologiques. Mon activité est l'édition de livres de permaculture et d'une revue dédiée aux modes de vie écologiques et alternatifs. Je joue du violon trad et j'aime la danse trad, l'improvisation et la danse contact.

    AVAILABLE TO RECEIVE GUESTS : about one week each month depending on monthly planning.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    a way of life.

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on the time in year and on the volunteer experience : help with ecobuilding, site management, gardening, etc
    - cuting firewood ; planting and grafting hardy fruit trees ; cut nettles and clear the grounds
    - dig a trench to bring source water to home
    - build a wooden staircase, a bathroom or a collective kitchen
    - manage library's books and magazines, edit kewords, write abstract ; translate permaculture or ecovillage related articles
    - do rhubarbe jam ; create wooden or metal art ; paint parts of the framework of the house

    Selon l'expérience du volontaire et selon les projets en cours, les activités proposées à cette occasion peuvent être :
    - couper et ranger du bois de chauffe ; planter et greffer des arbres fruitiers ; débroussailler
    - creuser une tranchée pour enterrer le tuyau qui amène l'eau de la source
    - ranger les livres et revues de la bibliothèques, les indexer, faire des résumés ; traduire des articles de l'anglais vers le français (à propos de permaculture ou d'écovillages)
    - faire de la confiture de rhubarbe ; faire des sculptures métalliques ou de bois ; peindre certaines parties de la charpente extérieure de la maison

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, french, some german, a bit of spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Dormitory or camping with very little modern comfort, no comfortable bathroom but solar shower or fire heated water. Vegetarian meals mainly organic. No electric washing machine but a source and a water stream in the forest, no electric fridge but a fresh ceilar.

    Dortoir ou camping, rustique et sans confort moderne, pas de salle de bain mais douche solaire ou l'eau chauffée sur le poêle, pas de machine à laver ni frigo. Repas végétariens en grande partie bio.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots of beautifull walkings possible in the surrounding area and also a bicycle trail road for the most courageous.
    The closest village is 4km away, where you can find a restaurant, a bar and a wine shop. Bigger village is 8km.

    There are many places of interest nearby : Uchon and its granitic chaos and XII chapel, a tibetan budhist temple, the roman cathedral of Autun, the medieval abbey and town of Cluny, the former Celts town Bibract, and also Beaune, Nuits-Saint- Georges and the wine area around the Saone.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Selon les époques, 1 à 5 heures par jour



Host ref number: 752542375749