Volunteer in a beautiful and historical part of Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 508 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    47  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Would you like to stay near the historic and beautiful sites of New Grange and the Hill of Tara, in County Meath, along with its rich and ancient history, there are beautiful gardens, walking trails, traditional music and dancing. I am looking for someone for two weeks min to a month approximately, thought this is flexible. You are offered your own room, broadband, and the usual household facilities, but no TV. This is a non-smoking household.
    The house is 3 miles, 4 kilometres from the nearest bus in a quiet rural area, I can go to the bus stop a couple of times a week, there are bicycles available and I can help with English language if that is required as I have a Tefl teaching English qualification. I will collect and deliver to Dublin Airport.
    There is mostly garden work at the moment, I want to put up a fence when the weather permits and chopping/sawing wood/trees, so experience with a chain saw is a big plus, mowing the grass, clearing gutters, washing windows, preparing beds for planting etc.. There is the usual household maintenance things to do. There may also be the possibility for some sanding and painting and some carpenting for those with some experience in this area. Time permitting I would also like to move my compost and make a better wooden system.
    As you can see there is a lot going on and a number of different opportunities to help, if these areas interest you and you have some experience with them.
    There is plenty to do and see in the area, from a nature/historical point of view as we are located in the Boyne Valley and part of Ireland’s Ancient East. It is a 40 minutes’ drive to Dublin city centre, which has something of interest for everyone and is visited often. Check my calendar for availability.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Through this culture exchange workawayers would get the opportunity to refine their English language skills and see some of the Ancient Irish sites and local countryside in the Boyne Valley Area, as well as visiting Dublin city and possibly further depending on time spent here and the season.

  • Help

    Help

    There is general maintenance around the property which includes, clearning gutters/leaves and chopping wood at this time of year. I want to create some beautiful and eco friendly spaces over time. Another focus for me at the moment is developing my website and social media on Facebook. Inside there is usual cleaning and assisting with some building projects from time to time. A willingness to work flexibly is very important, take innitiative and offer help where it is needed.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are single bedrooms available in the house with, desk and chair. You would share the main bathroom (shower and bath). There is wireless internet connection for your computer. Three meals a day would be provided and actively sharing the household chores would be part of living here like everywhere else, people take care of their own and communial living spaces. Washing facilities for clothes are available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time and season permitting here might be opportunities for hill walking, cycling (there is a bike here for your use), traditional music, historical sites, castles and authentic Irish pubs, day visits with the many and varied aspects of exploring Dublin.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week, but flexible on when this is done, based more around the weather and jobs or days out.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




























Host ref number: 752342176684