Interact in daily Chilean family life, and learn from helping with animals and land in Puerto Natales, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 135 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have 5 members in our family, Karol, Father, agronomist and administrator of the ranch we live in, Loreto, full-time mom and a veterinarian, we have 2 small children, Vedran and Jure of 3 and 1 respectively, and last but not least our guardian dog, Titan. We are located in a rural area, in the area of Puerto Natales, Chile.
    We live in a livestock ranch where we work in activities mainly related to cattle and sheep, surrounded by incredible landscapes and nature at its best, we consider ourselves lucky to be able to live this life, among the activities we do around the house everyday are taking care of the chicken coop and the greenhouse.
    We try to teach our children the importance to be respectful of all life and the environment around us. To give back to the earth what we take from it is that we have a composting and vermicomposting system, and at the same time we try to recycle everything that we can we still have a long way to go to say that we are totally successful at this. We would love to be able to teach what we know to anyone who would like to come and learn from everything we can offer, as well as receive and learn from those who want to come and help and bring their knowledge.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you can experience what it means to interact in the daily life of a Chilean family, learn from the activities we do out in the field, working with animals, or just sit and enjoy a nice firewood and a good conversation.

  • Help

    Help

    Among the activities we do every day are taking care of animals such as hens, dogs and horses, and the places set for them, chicken coop, stables, etc., gardening is also one of the activities we do around the house often, all kinds of activities related to firewood such as cutting, collection, storage and transportation to the places where it is needed.
    There is plenty to do around the farm also such as maintenance and arrangement of houses, fences, and other facilities.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Español. English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A container adapted as a small cabin, for a couple with a bathroom and enough room for a bed and a heating/cooking system (estufa Magállanica) but no electricity, we provide all the meals. But if you have special food requirements you need to bring it with you

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located 62 kilometers South of the city of Puerto Natales, and 182 kilometers N of the city of Punta Arenas.
    You can get here by bus from the city of Punta Arenas, and the travel time is approximately 2 hours.
    We are very far away from the city or shop so must bring whatever you think you may need with you.
    Torres del Paine is 190 km from the estancia, which means approximately 2 and a half hours bus ride. You would have to go to Puerto Natales first and from there take a bus to Torres del Paine.
    The estancia has an area of 2.000 hectares where you can find wild animals, as well as cattle, native forest of lenga and large areas of peat moss.

    *️️️️️️️We get our power from a generator which does not work all day, we get electricity from 10 am until 11 pm app. most of the time except winter time we only get electricity from 5 pm until 11pm app.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 752234922817

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more