Workaway in the rainforest with an indigenous Shuar family in Ecuador

  • Favourited 74 times
  • Last activity: 5 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a prospective small ecotourism project in the ecuatorion amazon region between Puyo and Macas. The vision is to share the Shuar culture with tourists from all over the world and be a cultural exchange project. It is a small tourism project on the big part of land of the family. We want to make possible an authentic experience in the amazon with a Shuar family.
    We are one big Shuar family of around 20 people and one Guy from Switzerland. Actually in the project involved is mostly Pablo, the father and head of the family, René, his oldest son, Dali, another son and Philip, a Swiss guy.

    There are a lots of kids around, same with dogs, chickens etc., but they live with the family close to the street.

    The project is reachable in about 1,5 hours from Puyo and 2 hours from Macas by bus. Puyo is 1,5 hours by bus from Baños.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn a lot about indiginous culture (Shuar) and the amazon region - eat and gather traditional food, learn about (medicinal) plants, learn about the way of living in the amazon and finally get in touch with a big, really gentle Shuar familie.
    They will mostly be away from electricity, internet, comforts of western world what can help to really connect with the inner self and be more calm and relaxed. They stay is healthy for body and mind.
    The experience of the vivid nature around, get to know the rainforest.
    At the family's house there are always lots of people and they show a big hostality with the guests.

  • Help

    Help

    (Semi-)Professional carpenters, gardeners or forest helpers may also help for some time in the construction and the jungle garden:
    Actually we work mostly on construction of typical and simple wooden houses in the amazon and making paths through the jungle for the tourists to walk around by themselfs. The work here is to assist or if you're experienced to help with create furniture directly from wood.


    Then a little bit of gardening and planting vegetables, fruits, flowers, etc. has to be done.

    (Basic) English teacher for the family would be great too. (later on)

    Minimum stay requested is from 2-3 weeks. Longer is possible too. Sometimes if it rains, there will be little work and plenty of time for themself, but especially that for it is needed not to be in a hurry.
    Basic spanish conversation should be possible as the family does only speak spanish and shuar.
    Please no drugs (cocain, cannabis, excessive alcohol drinking, etc.).


    Later on there is the possibility for long stay helpers to work in the tourism project itself, mainly care about the tourists and translate from spanish to english between tourists and the indiginous family. Maybe manage some internet things and help where it is needed.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    The family speaks only spanish and shuar but it would be really important for them to learn some english too. Philip is fluent in german and english and does pretty well with spanish as well. You can learn some shuar too if you're interested.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Very simple basic in a big traditional Shuar house. Really nice always with a fire in the middle of the house. It is shared accomodation. Simple wooden beds with camping mats - its recommended to bring your sleeping bag. Its also possible to have a single room in the big kitchen house.
    At the family's house there will be a room for you with simple wooden bed with camping mat. Sleeping bag is recommended too.


    Bath and washing in the little river just there, there we get our drinking water too. There will soon be a shower with collected rainwater.
    There is no internet and phone connection, but if needed it is possible to reach it in about 1,5 hour walking distance. There is the possibility to go there approximately once a week.
    Close to the familys house there is a little shop that has internet or in the comunidad one son has internet for his studies.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot of time to relax, to walk around and explore the amazon, learn about a lot of things, take part in rituals. Depends on the interest of the participant.
    The land of the family can be reached easy by bus, then its a 1,5 hours walk through the jungle.

    At the familys houses you can spend time by yourself, visit the comunidad, join them in their daily activities or have a walk on the land or in the forest.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maybe around 3 hours a day on average, 5 days a week. If it rains there is no work, some days are a bit longer. No one is taken advantage of.

Host ref number: 499877872438

Feedback (5)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Help with our eco-project with a native family next to volcano in Imbabura, Ecuador
Dog rescue and shelter with two 2 horses near Puyo, Amazon region, Ecuador