Learn about setting up a mixed, organic farm, among some of the best wineries and beaches in Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/05/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    420

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Matt and Rach, and we run a Farm. We’re a mixed farm on 20 acres, that try to use permaculture design principles on a commercial farm. We have sheep, ducks, chooks, geese, alpacas and two dairy calves, as well as a very young orchard of 200 trees. We’re putting in veggies this year.

    We’ve only been farming for a year, and started with a blank canvas, so there is still lots to do and lots of improvements to make!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our farm is in a start up phase, so plenty of mistakes to learn from! Every work day is an adventure. However, we’re also trialling some new and innovative ideas- a breeding project for short tailed sheep, and an animal orchard rotation system, with timed harvests.

    The Mornington Peninsula has some of Victorias best beaches and wineries, and if you have a car we are 50 minutes from Melbourne CBD

    We speak English, and a smattering if Spanish. Always keen to learn more!!

  • Help

    Help

    Help can include fencing, planting, building, weeding, animal feeding, and whatever needs doing.

    We don’t require experience, but do require a can-do attitude and willingness to have a go. 5hrs work a day, 4 days a week (we can be flexible in which 4).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two accommodation areas, depending on the number of people staying.

    1. Our home is divided into two halves. We live in one side. The other side we rent out as a Farm Stay. When we don't have guests we use this for workawayers as well. It has a room with a double bed, and a large bedroom with 4 bunk beds. This accommodation may be shared with other travellers, and has its own bathroom, kitchen and washing machine.

    2. There is a bungalow close to the house that we more commonly use for workawayers. It contains a small kitchen and lounge, as well as a room with space to sleep a maximum(!) of three. You are welcome to use our washing machine, as there isn't one in the bungalow. We currently have guests using the house bathroom as well, but we're working on putting a bathroom into the bungalow so depending on when you are hoping to stay, that may be done already.

    Basic breakfast ingredients will be left in your fridge. On workdays lunch will be eaten all together. Dinners vary- depending on the person/what you prefer (As in, if you want to eat with us, or just have us provide food).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport to our house. We are willing to organise pick ups and drop offs to the closest station (Frankston) on a case by case basis. Best suited to those with a car so you can explore the area on your days off!

    There's plenty to do nearby- Phaedrus estate and Stumpy Gully Winery are within walking distance. Pure Peninsula Honey farm gate is close by. Mornington and all it's restaurants, cafes and beaches is about 10 minutes away. We are 5 minutes from Somerville Coles (the local supermarket).

    We have a small baby, so do ask that people staying with us are respectful of that. No drugs or binge drinking please.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 745359741172