Volunteer to help educate children in Nepal, near Chitwan National Park.



Favourited 867 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  • Description


    Namaste and welcome to Nepal

    My name is Shushila and my husband is Hira. Together we have been running a small children's home in Sauraha, near Chitwan National Park, since 2009. We support local children who have no parents or have unfit parents. We look after them by providing a stable and safe environment where they can live, learn and play.

    At the moment, we have 11 children living here, ranging in age from 5 to 15, our kids included. There are 4 boys and 7 girls. The children learn English in school, so their English level is quite good.

    We live next to Chitwan National Park, Nepal's largest wildlife park, in a beautiful and natural area, close to a river and surrounded by rice fields and jungle.

    If you are interested in visiting, volunteering at or contributing - helping all the little precious lives here in any way, shape or form - you are always welcome as our own.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

    Thank you and see you soon!

    Shushila and the kids

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn to cook Nepali dhal bhat, have some language exchange and get involved with rural life.

    In your free time you can visit Chitwan National Park and experience jungle safaris, elephant riding and bathing, or canoeing. You can also visit downtown Chitwan or some of the local villages.

    I believe that we can all learn from one another. I want my kids to be exposed to foreigners, their culture, their language, their habits. I believe your experience with us may enrich each of us, perhaps even be life changing. After a volunteer leaves, we always have something that reminds us of them - whether it is a painted door, a shelf, a recipe, a story, a trick or simply a bunch of laughs. I hope to see you soon, my friend.

  • Help


    Children go to school from 9am to 4pm, so the volunteers will spend time with them before and after school.
    You can help the children with:


    You can share with the children any other skills you may have. Before coming we can discuss and organize which type of activities you can do with them.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Nepali, English

  • Accommodation


    We have 3 rooms for the volunteers, just a 3 minute walk from our home. There is space for 2 volunteers per room and all the rooms have an attached bathroom. A fan and mosquito net are provided for your comfort.

    Note: If there are more than 3 volunteers at a time, they will have to share a room.

    Breakfast, lunch and dinner are provided for the volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we do not receive any assistance from the Nepali government, we face financial difficulties and it is a challenge to sustain the home. Any help or donation from visitors and volunteers is very much appreciated.

    How to reach the project:

    If you arrive in Kathmandu you will need to spend at least one night there, because all tourist buses to Sauraha (Chitwan) leave at at 7 to 8 am. In Thamel (Kathmandu's backpackers area) there are several bus companies and travel agencies where you can easily book your bus ticket to Sauraha. Once the ticket is booked, please send me a message by email or call me on my mobile with your bus details (bus name and bus number) so we can pick you up from Sauraha bus park.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

  • ...

    This host charges a fee

    read more
    $5 per day

Host ref number: 744884811796