Searching for help for a new bistro/pizzeria venture in Loro Piceno, Le Marche, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 157 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/06/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    265

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Ciao!! My name is Lucy and together with my husband Mike, (we're an English couple who have been living in Loro Piceno for 7 years), we are about to launch a new business venture!!!! After battling with the aftermath of the earthquake in 2016 and then Covid, we have decided to open a bistro/pizzeria and combine it with our former business of offering cookery classes.

    We are looking for a reliable and committed person to spend at least 3 months with us in a 'front of house' role, greeting customers, taking orders, serving drinks, food etc. You will need to be fluent in Italian and English as a minimum. You also need to be legally allowed to work in Italy. Previous experience in a job like this would be a big advantage, but the most important requirement is for a cheerful disposition, the ability to juggle a busy service and also a willingness to 'muck in' and help with whatever work needs doing, (like cleaning at the end of the night, going shopping for supplies etc). We are offering pay for this role and will discuss the amount with you in person.

    If you like food and drink, that will be a great help as we also want someone who will assist with cookery classes during the day, (the front of house work will be evenings and some brunch/lunch times at the weekend). You will have 2 days a week off. You will need to be very hands-on with a cheerful 'can-do' attitude and must like meeting new people and getting involved.

    If you can drive, (and have an EU licence) that would be a fabulous bonus! If you don't mind being a 'jack of all trades' as well as a stellar 'front of house' personality, then this could be perfect for you!!!! Guests will be coming to us expecting an authentic 'Le Marche' food and drink experience - we want you to help deliver that! It will be tiring, but we also promise it will be fun!

    We need someone who can arrive with us on 8/9 July and stay until at least the end of September......... If you can't fit in with these dates, this won't be the right challenge for you......

    We are offering pay for the time you help out at the bistro.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This exchange will allow you to live like a local in Le Marche and brush up Italian or English language skills. There will also be time to visit local places of interest like Roman Urbs Salvia, San Ginesio and Macerata.

    The area is rich in local history and there will be an opportunity to meet local business owners, shop at the market and develop DIY and gardening skills.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    If you are still reading this far down the page, then you may be the sort of person we're looking for!

    We're starting a bistro/pizzeria and is in the town of Loro Piceno, Macerata area, Le Marche. We're between the mountains and the sea - around 35/40 minutes from each.

    The biggest requirement is for someone with flexibility - if you want to, you can also learn about making Italian food - from seafood to pasta, from cakes and dough to local vegetables and delicacies. And there will be a chance to practice English, (which is the language we'll be working behind the scenes in) every day. During the summer, Loro Piceno has a large influx of tourists from various European countries, so any smattering of Dutch, German, French and other languages will help!

    As well as that, we would like someone to take responsibility for our social media posts etc.....using words and pictures taken from our daily activities and using them to fill our Blog, Instagram and other social media pages.

    Please do contact us if you're interested in learning more.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Neither of us are fluent Italian speakers yet, so if you're a native Italian speaker and interested in improving your English, we'd be very happy to dedicate some time to this.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will be at our house.

    There is a shared bathroom.

    You will also have use of the living room and kitchen, (hopefully, the weather will be good enough to spend lots of time outside)!!!

    No smoking inside the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Le Marche is a relatively undiscovered part of Italy. The location is rural, so if you have your own car, that is just perfect.

    If you fly to Italy, we can collect you from Ancona airport or you can catch a train to Civitanova Marche/Tolentino or Macerata - all of which are reasonably close - and where we will meet you at the station.

    On days off, it's a 30/40 minute drive to the beach or to the mountains and there are lots of outdoor activities like bicycling and walking to enjoy. Le Marche is full of medieval towns and villages and has a strong food and wine culture to explore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good, reliable WiFi connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can accommodate a small camper - but we don't have hook ups for electricity or water, so these would need to come from the house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 days a week, variable hours, minimum 6 per day








Host ref number: 744567839649