Become a part of our family and learn our traditions in Röstånga, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/11/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an international (American-Polish and 4/5 Swedish (at least Ina paper:) family of five living on the outskirts of lush forest of National Park Söderåsen. Shmuel is a vegan, vegetarian, raw cook running his catering and summer caffe downstairs from where we live. Kasza is a doula and a yoga teacher with newly discovered passion for gardening (there might be some veggies if slugs will not overrun us) and bread baking (there will be sourdough bread). Nuria (known as Nuria-Sznuria) is a trilingual strong willed 3,5 year old with love for book reading and story telling (in a mixture of Polish-Swedish and English). Meira (MeiraShmeira) is 13 month old little athlete, passionate about climbing and biting. Efraim (Cappuccino mushmush) is her little twin brother who charms everyone with his ever present smile and determination in getting into trouble.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a Jewish family and are committed in our own way. We celebrate Shabbat every Friday evening, pray every morning (lots of singing), and make blessings on food. It’s a big part of our life and a great value for us.

  • Help

    Help

    Shmuel will be working on his summer cafe project this summer and Kasza would love some help and company with the kids. Would be great to find someone who has a driving license so we can discover Skåne together. Polish speaking person could be great inspiration for Nuria in her bumpy journey of learning Kaszas mother tongue.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Yiddish: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Hebrew: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate
    Sami: Intermediate
    Swedish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will stay in a little hut downstairs from where we live. It has its own bathroom and little kitchen. We will provide vegetarian (vegan if that is your preference) meals. And we love cooking together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is public transport 5 minutes from the house. We live right on Skåne trail, 5 minutes from beautiful forest and 15 minutes from a little lake.

    You have to know that this is a rural area which means that you have to be able entertain yourself the rest of the time. Loving nature person will really enjoy it.

    There is busses that can take you all around the southern parts of Skåne. You can easily spend your free days in Lund (charming city) and Malmö (special treat for sauna lovers with beautiful Old sauna by the sea).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 742956231845