Learn about dog mushing, be part of our family and explore Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Debora recently broke her leg, and will be on crutches a while longer, :(, so the duties for the next few months will consist of dog care and kennel help, miscellaneous odd jobs and cleaning, and occasional house-sitting.

    ** ** ** **

    We (Debora and Nevin) live in a hillside home overlooking Anchorage, Alaska. We have a small unique sprint sled dog kennel - unique because our 11 dogs live in the city and are truly part of the family!

    Debora is the trainer/racer and works from home most often. She participates in both dryland events and snow events. Nevin is retired and "tinkers" in the shop or travels to visit family. We also have a dry cabin that we retreat to to train dogs, kayak, fish, or simply enjoy the quiet. Come explore Alaska and all it has to offer: hiking, fishing, biking, dog sledding, snowshoeing, skiing, etc...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience Alaska and it's beauty first hand. Learn about sled dogs and the northern lifestyle. Explore wilderness adventures!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for an enthusiastic person, willing to help as needed. You would be mainly involved with the care of of our aging sprint sled dog team: cleaning, feeding, and training, but there are also general "projects" and household duties that we'd appreciate help with. There may be times when you would house-sit all or some of the dogs while one or both of us travel. We compete in dryland races in the fall (so runners and bikers are welcome) and snow events in the winter! We prefer folks that can stay for longer periods of time!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some German, even less French :)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single room, "shared" bath, full access to the entire house (part of the family), WIFI. We also have a dry cabin in Willow, AK that we frequent. You can cook for yourself or join us for meals - your preference. Non smokers only please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our kennel is unique as it is located within Anchorage. You'll therefore have access to both the city but can be remote within minutes of our home. Anchorage is a very active community (both summer and winter). Hiking, biking, ski trails, downhill skiing are all within minutes from our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 739933916256