Help me with DIY Improvement projects in Manitoulin Island Farm House, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/08/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm Jessica, the farm house belongs to my father and I live here with him, my sister and brother. My father is a retired chemical engineer, my sister an artist, my brother a gamer. We have a dog, Kawartha, two cats, Autumn and Loki, and several chickens.

    I'm an oddball. I'm 29, I work in long term care, and I'm fairly connected in my community. I know a lot of food producers, an eco-community, and a lot of interesting cats around here to go kayaking, hiking and adventuring with. I also have a fishing boat we can take out if you're interested.

    The house is 100+ years old with an addition that was built in the 70s.

    No one in my family currently smokes cigarettes but smokers are welcome to smoke in the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There's a lot of opportunity to learn about vegetable gardening, raising chickens, growing culinary mushrooms, and probably all kinds of things I wouldn't even think of.

    The area, Manitoulin Island, is also home to a large Anishinaabe population and in normal (non-pandemic) circumstances, there are Pow Wows all summer.

    My father has a lot of culinary talent and takes a page from everywhere he's been, and lots of stories.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for 25 hours/week of help getting the house and property back in shape.

    My mother passed away last summer, and she collected a lot of things. The main thing that needs done is that the house needs cleaned and organized, and all of the stuff needs gone through and sorted into what will be kept, sold, thrown out, donated, or gifted. Someone with experience with minimalism or just home organization generally would be a plus.

    I also want to bring her flower gardens back to full glory. The main problem is they are full of grass. Experience gardening would be an asset but not essential as most of the work is pretty straight forward, it just takes time.

    There are also a million other tasks, repairs, and upkeep. If you have experience in plumbing, roofing, or construction, please let me know.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would love to have someone help me practice my French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have one room with a queen sized bed and a desk to yourself. Suitable for a couple or single workawayer.

    Meals are free, you are welcome to have dinner or breakfast with us or fend for yourself and make use of the kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of spots you can check out. You might hike the cup and saucer trail, visit Providence Bay Beach, or go out for a meal at one of the many local restaurants.

    It would be in your favor to have your full covid vaccination.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Reliable, fast Starlink connection, WiFi throughout entire house and on the patio.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Space for any sized camper van, no RV hookups unfortunately.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Anything but a cat. One of our cats is not cat friendly.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 - 5 hours per day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 738292845576