An Experience 'Ewe' Will Never Forget, helping on our farm at the foot of the Porongurup Ranges, Mount Barker, WA, Australia!

Country

Australia

Favourited 123 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Imagine waking up to the sun rising over the mountains, the peace and serenity of the countryside and the smell of a fresh coffee brewing.
    Then there's the sound of sheep baaing, the ducks fighting over their pool, Stewart the Rooster crowing and the horse neighing for his breakfast...
    Welcome to our farm - our sheep and buffalo dairy at the foot of the Porongurup Ranges, Mount Barker, WA.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Scottie and I run a sheep dairy at the base of the Porongurup ranges. During lambing (August - September) we spend most of our time caring for our new sheep mums and their lambs. Our second home is in the dairy where we milk 100+ ewes.

    We're looking forward to meeting travellers and hearing all about your stories and adventures (let's face it, with a dairy in full swing we're not going anywhere for a loooong time!). You'll become a member of the family although it might take some convincing to get the dog to move over on the couch.

    We are looking for someone/s who enjoy working with animals and is very, very patient. In time you'll get to know all the girls in the dairy and find out why they have names like 'Irish', 'Digger', 'Munty', Choc-Milk' and 'Satan'. We can also offer you some farm experiences helping with fencing, hay carting, feeding stock and mustering.

    If you are really clever and want some extra challenges there's a shed to build, shed to extend, coolrooms to finish and one of these days we might even finish painting the two-tone house.

    We also need help keeping the house running including cooking the odd meal and helping with the cleaning and washing. There's a large area of garden that we try to maintain (although every so often the sheep help by breaking out of the paddocks and eating everything in sight).

    This is an opportunity you can't resist!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer space in our house or there is a caravan in a nearby shed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're based at the foot of the Porongurup Ranges - there's a range of challenging walk trails throughout the hills. If a nice drop of red or riesling is more your style we are situated right in the heart of the region's best wine land.
    The closest town is Mount Barker which is 15km to the west. We're also 50km from Albany with amazing beaches and some great fishing and 55km from Denmark, which is just beautiful!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 736489455111