1 / 5

Join our community in a new collective housing project in Malmö, Sweden

  • Favourited 55 times
  • Last activity: 11 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    (PLEASE NOTE WE ARE NOT ABLE TO TAKE ANY MORE PEOPLE Right Now) I will update when we can again :)

    Hey! Are you interested in helping us renovate and garden in a new collective housing project () in Malmö? We are a group of 30 adults (and 20 kids) renovating an old hospital building together in order to live in it collectively in an ecologically and environmentally sustainable way. For more information about the project itself see our website

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Most of the people living in the collective are Swedish but we do have some people from other countries living with us also so it is a nice place of cultural exchange already. Some of the knowledge and skills that we can share in the collective include gardening, foraging, musical instrument playing, and language sharing (as well as building skills!)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have all moved into the building now and are looking for some extra help with finishing off the last of the building tasks - things like plastering, painting, carrying materials, and gardening. Don't worry if you don't have experience with these tasks before (neither did many of us before we started!) but we will be able to show and explain what tasks need to be done where and how to do them. The help would be around 5 hours per day 5 days per week with 2 full days off per week (you can choose which days you take off). In return we will provide food and board for the entirety of your stay. In the collective we also have dinners together in the big common kitchen about 4 nights per week so we will get to hang out and get to know each other then and we can give you any travel tips for Malmö and Sweden :)

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be provided with a bed (and linen) and 3 meals per day. We will take you over to the shop to get the things you want for breakfast and lunches (which you will be able to cook yourself in our big common kitchen). For dinner, we have dinner together in the collective about 4 nights per week. You are welcome to join these dinners or to cook your own, whichever you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We recommend travelling around the city on the cheap and easy city bikes (malmö by bike). While you are staying with us you should bike into Malmö to take a dip in the sea down at the beautiful Västra hamnen area, go to the sauna at Ribersborg beach, and for nightlife you can go out in the cool Möllan downtown area (only 15mins bike from the house) or watch some live music in our favourite local pub Mässingshornet! You can also travel to many beautiful hiking and swimming spots all around Skåne very easily from the house - and we can provide you with lots more information on these topics when you arrive also!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have strong wifi in the big common dining area that you would be able to work using

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes, there is space for your to park your van either in the front or back of the building. You would still be able to access all the amenities of the building

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 736275352739

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Learn about how it is to live on a small-scale self-sufficient farm in Huskvarna, Sweden
Join our family of six and help with home renovations and gardening in Bolmsö, Sweden