Come and help a couple living on a 26 acre farm set and enjoy the natural environment in Neerim South, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/01/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    22

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple living on a 26 acre farm set in beautiful rolling green countryside in West Gippsland, Victoria, approximately 1.5 hours from Melbourne. We offer fully self contained accommodation, suitable for a couple. in a comfortable, attractive mudbrick barn. We have a 6 acre garden including roses, vegetables, herbs, fruit trees and a small vineyard. On occasions we open the garden to the public and we are looking for a couple who have some knowledge of gardening. the remainder of the land is used to farm beef cattle. We are situated 3 km from a small village which has facilities such as cafe, bakery, supermarket and hotel and a 20 minute drive to a bigger town which has a railway connection to Melbourne.

    The area offers natural beauty, bushwalking and a vibrant artistic community.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will experience country living in a natural environment with well travelled hosts who welcome you to share in their pleasant Australian way of life. Workawayers will benefit from working with a qualified horticulturist in an expansive garden.
    We will enjoy sharing our love of good food with our guests and learning about their culture.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening includes weeding, mowing (ride on mower) and general maintenance of 6 acre garden including small vineyard and orchards.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The attractive self contained accommodation is in a separate two story building with a bedroom and bathroom upstairs and limited kitchen facilities downstairs. Main meals to be enjoyed with hosts.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local pub provides meals and live music at weekends and there are wineries, restaurants, cafes in reasonable proximity.
    Happy to provide transport to the railway station on days off if required and there is also a local bus service.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 733814994764