Welcome to our family in the French countryside, Rhône-Alpes, France

Country

France

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/02/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a picturesque little village deep in the French countryside. A place where farms, vineyards, and forests rule the land. We are a family of circus artists who work hard and play hard. April, Rico, and our children Damian 9 and Neyannah 8 are looking for someone who is interested in coming to enjoy our beautiful scenery, maybe learn some circus skills and help us with childcare. We have a cute little caravan that we park just outside of our house so that people can stay or we have a guest suite in our house. We have mountain bikes we can share, both the children love to cycle, we also have rock climbing equipment and some beautiful climbing walls nearby. Plus our circus training space is a not from our house and we can offer our guests the chance to practice or learn some circus skills. During this fall, we especially need help with the kids as April is taking an intensive acrobatics course and will be away from home 5 days a week. Big bonus for people who have a drivers license and can help get the kids to and from school and after school activities. The kids also have every Wednesday completely off school and we need someone to watch them the full day.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Seeing the remote countryside lifestyle here in this tiny French village is special. Its absolutely beautiful and you can deepen your French or English language as we are a multicultural family and are all bilingual and Damian loves teaching French if thats something your working on! You can also try or expand your circus skills, April is a professional aerialist and Rico is a juggler and hula hooper. The kids do unicycle, aerial, and acrobatics. They can also learn cooking skills, organic gardening, and rock climbing.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help for the next 3 months with the kids and around the house. We need someone who is good with kids, speaks either French or English and is willing to help with childcare, maybe some general house hold cleaning, organic gardening, cooking (if your interested). We also have chickens and a big new garden,for those who are interested in helping with that but the focus is the childcare. The ideal person could come for 2 weeks minimum to get to know the children and build a connection with them. They would do general nanny duties with lots of outdoor play, walks, bike rides, potentially picking the children up from the village school which is a 5 minute drive away. The 15 hours a week of help is in exchange for accommodation and if the hours pass 15 hours then the meals will also be included in the exchange. We eat healthy organic and vegetarian food and are happy to have our guests cook with us to learn more about the way we we eat.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A small camping caravan, or trailer is an option for a big more privacy, but we also have a guest suite in our home. Wifi, bedding and towels provided. If you choose to stay in the caravan there is a small kitchenette with small refrigerator and gas cooker and basic cutlery and tools for cooking. Located just next to the main house. You can cook in the caravan or eat with us as mentioned above.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We will pick you up from the closest town with bus access, we are located 1.5 hours outside of Lyon and you can take the bus to the city about 15 minutes from our house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Depends on life schedule but approx 20 hours a week.


Host ref number: 732945225637