Be immersed in family life at our historic chateau home in Bourdeilles, France

Country

France

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I, along with our four children, have renovated a chateau in the Dordogne and have done a lot of the work.

    The origins of the castle date back to 1420, with most of the property being built in the 15th, 16th and 17th centuries. There are fairy-tale towers, terraces, a prison cell ...
    The location is beautiful, village on one side, countryside on the other, the river flows at the foot of the 20m rock on which we are sitting. Tourists abound in summer, and we are right in the heart of the region renowned for its gastronomy and its castles.

    We are welcoming and do not hold any ceremonies, so expect to be treated as part of the furnishings. It will be memorable, fun, sometimes easy, sometimes difficult, always changeable (shots are considered flowing lines), so you should be ready to grab your shoes and be dragged around to sort one thing or another. For those who do not need to know what the day has in store, our place is ideal.

    We still have a lot to do and the maintenance we did nine years ago is coming back.

    Please note that any help you offer is in our personal area and is unrelated to our potential business activity which is in a completely separate building. Your home help would allow us to focus on building our business.

    Shutters to paint (76 sets), gardening to do, general tasks.
    There will always be tasks to do, there is something for everyone.

    Mon mari et moi, ainsi que nos quatre enfants, avons rénové un château dans la Dordogne et avons réalisé beaucoup des travaux.

    Les origines du château remontent à 1420, l'essentiel de la propriété étant construit aux XVe, XVIe et XVIIe siècles. Il y a des tours de contes de fées, des terrasses, une cellule de prison ...
    L'emplacement est magnifique, village d'un côté, campagne de l'autre, la rivière coule au pied du rocher de 20 m sur lequel nous sommes assis. Les touristes abondent en été, et nous sommes en plein cœur de la région réputée pour sa gastronomie et ses châteaux.

    Nous sommes accueillants et ne tenons aucune cérémonie, alors attendez-vous à être traité comme faisant partie du mobilier. Ce sera mémorable, amusant, parfois facile, parfois difficile, toujours changeant (les plans sont considérés comme des lignes fluides), vous devriez donc être prêt à prendre vos chaussures et à être traîné pour trier une chose ou une autre. Pour ceux qui n'ont pas besoin de savoir ce que la journée nous réserve, notre place est idéale.

    Nous avons encore beaucoup à faire et l'entretien que nous avons effectué il y a neuf ans revient.

    Veuillez noter que toute aide que vous proposez se trouve dans notre espace personnel et n'est pas liée à notre activité commerciale potentielle qui se trouve dans un bâtiment entièrement séparé. Votre aide à domicile nous permettrait de nous concentrer sur la création de notre entreprise.

    Volets à peindre (76 sets), jardinage à faire, travaux généraux.
    Il y aura toujours des tâches à faire, il y en a pour tous les goûts.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have an amazing place here. We speak French and English (and some other random languages). The region is spectacular and full of sights and experiences. We are good hosts and you would be immersed in family life (though you would have your privacy of course). Whatever you want to get out of it, we will be happy to do what we can to help.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Where should I start?
    We have lots of things going on and do all the work ourselves whilst also trying to set up a business.
    It could be simple gardening tasks such as weeding, sweeping terraces and steps, pressure washing, digging, pruning, planting.
    Or laying foundations, setting out 60kg stone, demolishing a wall, building a stone wall, laying concrete, cutting wood.
    Or dusting and polishing, vacuuming, scouring something.
    Or playing Scrabble with a parent, chatting, going for a walk, dropping something off at a neighbour's.
    Or logging photos, alphabetising DVDs etc
    It could be taking tourists around (we often have people being nosy and we are happy to escort them and let them have a look around).
    There is also painting, decorating etc.
    You name it, we probably have it.

    Please note that any help offered by you is within our own personal space, and is not related to our potential business activity which is in an entirely separate building. Your help in our home would allow us to focus on setting up our business.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would be in one of our guest rooms with ensuite shower room and toilet in the main part of the château with us. The views are great from every room.
    You would be free to use the communal rooms and areas of the property.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Variable, but witin workaway guidelines. None of it will seem like work and the timing would be flexible. Maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 732787667665