Help out on an organic farm with over 500 varieties of fruits, vegetables, herbs and flowers in Minnesota, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 313 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there! If you want to experience many different things, this may be the place for you! I have a small organic farm with over 500 varieties of fruits, vegetables, herbs, and flowers, as well as many other native plant species. I also have a Natural Foods Store and deli (We have lots of posts and photos on FB and IG). The store is located in a town in Iowa with a population of 10,000 in the winter and 100,000+ in the summer, because of all the seasonal residents and people who come to vacation at the lakes. The farm is located in a town in Minnesota, 33 miles from the store, with a population of about 40! It would be best if you have your own vehicle to get around with.

    Due to bad experiences with recent and other past work exchangers, I've decided that unless you have some sort of skills or experience that really fits in well with what I do here, then I'm probably not going to accept any of the following: vegans, smokers, drug users, or anyone under the age of 30, as too often, it causes me more trouble and hardship than what its worth.

    Because so many things are unknown at this point, due to Co-Vid 19, it's hard to say how the next few months or 2021 are going to turn out. I would like to find 1 or 2 people who are willing and able to come here for an extended stay, if not the entire growing season, which starts in April, and will go until October. Shorter stays by additional people may be okay, but my main focus, and need, is to find people who will be here for most of this time frame, who can consistently and reliably help with growing things at the farm, and who will help sell things at one or more of the farmers markets. I prefer longer stays by people who I would only have to teach or train once, and who can then do things without needing a lot of additional supervision, as opposed to having to spend a lot of time training new people frequently.

    What we do is sometimes different from day to day, or week to week, depending on what needs to be done at the farm or store, what projects or events are going on, what the weather is going to be like, how long you are staying, what your interests are, etc., so it would be great if you are flexible, easy-going, adaptable, ambitious and spontaneous! You would have a minimum of 2 days off per week, in most cases, but at the same time, the standard work exchange program of working 5 hours a day, for 5 days a week, in exchange for room, board and education, may or may not always fit very well with the kind of schedule or arrangement that we have, or that is needed.

    If you stay for 3 months or longer, and you are legally eligible to work in the U.S., then you may be able to work as a part-time paid employee at the store, either making things in the kitchen, or as a cashier. There may also be an opportunity for you to do some graphic design, photography, marketing, website development or social media work too, if you are so inclined. In addition, if you have any talents, skills, hobbies, professions or interests that you would like to try to make money with, on the side, by selling your products or services at the store, farmers market, or other places and events, we may be able to arrange that! Once again, it really depends on you, what your interests are, and what you want to do or learn! Since we have such a wide selection of herbs, fruits, berries, flowers, and other things that are available here, there is an endless array of things can be made or done. So if you are looking for a place, or project, that you can really sink your teeth, or roots, into for a while, and let your creative juices flow, this might just be it?!!

    NOTE: I seem to get a lot of messages from people, especially from other countries, who want to come here sometime between November and February while it is winter, but unless you are wanting to spend that time doing indoor projects, getting a jump start on working at the store, or on making things that you might want to sell this summer, such as jewelry, art, paintings, soap, lotion, infusions, brewing, etc., then there is probably not going to be much for you to do here during this time, until it decides to be spring outside.

    Since 2010, I have hosted over 70 people from all over the world thru several different work exchange organizations. I like to have fun, and I go to as many as 10 music festivals a year, and sometimes I go on roadtrips where mountains, forests, waterfalls, hot springs, lakes, beaches, camping, hiking, tubing, bonfires, etc. are involved. If you are here at the time that I am doing any of this, you may be able to come along, if you would like, and if it works out to do so. These activities have all been greatly reduced this year, however, due to the virus.

    While I do not have any animals that I claim as my own, there are a number of cats that prowl around the neighborhood, including several that have taken up residency in the chicken tractor and cathouse that I built. No animals are allowed in the house, however, in case someone comes here who is allergic. If you want to have bees, chickens, ducks, rabbits, goats, sheep, etc., you may be able to do that, if you are going to stay here long enough for that to be a realistic endeavor, and as long as that isn’t going to end up creating too much additional work for me! There is an elk ranch across the road, and I have another neighbor that does animal rescue who has all sorts of hairy 4-legged creatures!

    What you make of this opportunity is up to you! It is my hope that you make the most of it, and that we have a fantastic, and mutually beneficial time, while you are here. If you have any sort of habits, issues or addictions that might get in the way of that happening, however, then perhaps coming here may not be the best idea! Otherwise, if you have any questions, or if you are interested in learning more about this opportunity, then please send me a message. Thank you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    See Description Above

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for someone who can arrive sometime in March or April, and help with planting the gardens in the spring, followed by weeding, harvesting, processing, etc., throughout the rest of the growing season, which ends in October. If being here for the entire season does not work for you, then other arrival and departure times, and length of stays may be possible. Beyond working at the farm is where things really get fun, exciting and interesting, however, and it really is based on what your skills and interests are, and what you want to do or learn!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a Camper/RV pad if someone is living in theirs. I have a guest cabin in the back yard, and hope to build another one, at some point. The main building at the farm has a full bathroom, kitchen, and infrared sauna, along with a large room which has additional beds for guests/volunteers

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have everyone fill out a questionnaire before arriving (skills, interests, dietary restrictions, allergies, medications, emergency contact info, etc) so that we can better plan for your stay and tailor it, as best we can, to what you like to do or want to learn.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have a Camper/RV pad in the front yard with water, septic and electric hookups

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hrs


Host ref number: 732289887365