Eco farm, help with bioconstruction in buildings, maintaining a small organic garden near Tarifa, Spain



Favourited 393 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    My name is Fernando.

    I live near Tarifa, Cadiz (South of Spain) in a farm of 30 thousand square meters within the Los Alcornocales Natural Park.
    The place is charming, surrounded by soft mountains and lots of vegetation. It is a very quiet place and without many neighbors around.

    Me llamo Fernando.
    Vivo cerca de Tarifa, Cadiz (Sur de España) en una finca de 30 mil metros cuadrados dentro del Parque Natural de Los Alcornocales.
    El lugar es encantador, rodeado de suaves montañas y con mucha vegetacion. Es un sitio muy tranquilo y sin muchos vecinos alrededor.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I manage the farm with permaculture criteria, that is, using techniques of bioconstruction in buildings, maintaining a small organic garden (about 40 square meters) and in general having a respectful view of the environment in which I live. . From all this I can teach you.
    Also, if you are from another country other than Spain I can teach you Spanish, I am good at doing it.

    There are several hiking trails in the surrounding area. 15 minutes by car you can do sport climbing.

    The place where I live is 15 minutes by car from some beautiful beaches, still very wild, natural and calm.
    The town of Tarifa is about 20 minutes away by car, it is a very beautiful and interesting town to visit.

    Toda la gestion de la finca la realizo con criterios de permacultura, esto es, usando tecnicas de bioconstruccion en las edificaciones, manteniendo un huerto organico de pequeñas dimensiones (unos 40 metros cuadrados) y en general teniendo una vision respetuosa con el entorno en que vivo. De todo esto os puedo enseñar.
    Tambien, si sois de otro pais distinto a España os puedo enseñar español, se me da bien hacerlo.
    Por los alrededores hay varias rutas para hacer senderismo. A 15 minutos en coche puedes hacer escalada deportiva.
    El lugar donde vivo queda a 15 minutos en coche de unas bellas playas, todavia muy salvajes, naturales y tranquilas.
    El pueblo de Tarifa queda a unos 20 minutos en coche, es una poblacion muy hermosa e interesante para visitar.

  • Help


    The farm has three houses, two of them are already reformed with bioconstruction criteria, the third is missing that I would like to have ready for the summer of 2019.

    The profile of the people I would like to work with and live with is:

    -They must be active, with their own decisions and ideas. That are friendly, sociable, positive, enthusiastic, with enthusiasm and eager to learn.
    -They are lovers of the countryside and nature.
    -What are hardworking and strong, it is not necessary to lift a lot of weight, but if they are in shape and in good health.
    - That they are affectionate with the animals.
    - That they be neat and clean, both in their daily personal hygiene of their body and clothes and in the care of the exterior and common areas.
    -It is valued the experience in construction or bioconstruction, carpentry, tool management, work in the garden and in the field, and on a personal level that enjoys cooking and has knowledge of nutrition and health.
    -To have a vehicle of your own that allows them a certain independence is also interesting.
    -And ... surely I have already said it, but I do not want drugs or alcohol and, if possible, no tobacco.
    -If I would like them to have a vegetarian diet and to be spiritual.

    By last mention that you have to bring with you: towel, flashlight, bath gel, soap for washing machine and those food products that you usually consume as coffee, tea, cookies, etc.

    I hope these suggestions do not frighten anyone, I am an open person and I believe that the more common things we have, the better the coexistence will be, and in no way is it necessary to fulfill all the requirements.


    La finca tiene tres casitas, dos de ellas ya estan reformadas con criterios de bioconstruccion, falta la tercera que me gustaria tenerla lista para el verano del 2019.

    El perfil de las personas con que me gustaria trabajar y convivir es:

    -Que sean activas, con decisiones e ideas propias. Que sean amigables, sociables, positivas, entusiastas, con ilusion y con ganas de aprender.
    -Que sean amantes del campo y la naturaleza.
    -Que sean trabajadoras y fuertes, no es necesario poder levantar mucho peso, pero si que esten en forma y con buena salud.
    -Que sean cariñosas con los animales.
    -Que sean ordenadas y limpias, tanto en su aseo personal diario de su cuerpo y ropas como en el cuidado del exterior y zonas comunes.
    -Se valora la experiencia en construccion o bioconstruccion, carpinteria, manejo de herramientas, trabajo en el huerto y en el campo, y a nivel personal que disfrute de la cocina y tenga conocimientos de nutricion y salud.
    -Tener un vehiculo propio que les permita cierta independencia tambien es interesante.
    -Y...seguramente ya lo habre dicho, pero no quiero drogas ni alcohol y a ser posible tampoco tabaco.
    -Si me gustaria que tuvieran un alimentacion vegetariana y que fueran espirituales.

    Pôr ultimo mencionar que teneis que traer con vosotros: toalla, linterna, gel de baño, jabon para lavadora y aquellos productos de comida que consumais habitualmente como cafe, te, galletitas, etc.

    Espero que estas sugerencias no asusten a nadie, soy una persona abierta y creo que cuanto mas cosas en comun tengamos mejor será la convivencia, y de ninguna manera es necesario cumplir todos los requisitos.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation


    The accommodation is a small house of 35 square meters, which is seen in the photo, independent, with a small room with bed for two people and a living room and kitchen. The bathroom is outside, a minute away and also independent.
    The lodging that I offer is in glamping tent, that is, it is like a tent but something more luxurious. It is 4 meters in diameter and two and a half meters high in the central part. It consists of two single beds, a small closet for clothes and personal belongings, electric light and plugs. Next to the store I have built a very nice space to wash and shower among the trees. All this is in a private space for you near the garden area.

    We would work 5 hours a day for 5 days and you would have 2 days that it is not necessary to work. This shift is so for my work needs.
    The tasks to be done is somewhat hard, move stones to make the ground, make wire for the edible forest, plant trees, work with weight, etc.
    Breakfasts, lunches and dinner are included. Dinner will be simple.
    I like to cook, but I would like you to cook sometimes too.

    5 hours of help per day.

    El alojamiento es una casita de 35 metros cuadrados, que se ve en la foto, independiente, con una pequeña habitacion con cama para dos personas y un salon comedor y cocina. El baño es exterior, a un minuto de distancia y tambien independiente.
    El alojamiento que ofrezco es en galmping tend, esto es, es como una tienda de campaña pero algo mas lujosa. Tiene 4 metros de diametro y dos metros y medio de altura en la parte central. Consta de dos camas individuales, un pequeño armario para ropa y enseres personales, luz electrica y enchufes. Al lado de la tienda he construido un espacio muy bonito para asearse y ducharse entre los arboles. Todo esto esta en un espacio privado para vosotros cerca de la zona del huerto.
    Trabajariamos 5 horas diarias durante 6 dias y tendriais 2 dias que no es necesario trabajar. Este turno es asi por necesidades de mi trabajo.
    Los trabajos a realizar son algo duros, mover piedras para hacer el suelo, hacer alambrada para el bosque comestible, plantar arboles, trabajar con peso, etc.
    Los desayunos, comida y cena estan incliudos. La cena sera sencilla.
    Me gusta cocinar, pero me gustaria que tambien cocinarais vosotros alguna vez.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Other things of interest:
    -I'm a vegetarian (if I eat some cheese), by the way my neighbor from above makes natural goat cheese and also has eggs from free-range hens if you feel like it. I do not smoke, I do not drink, I do not use drugs. I do yoga and meditation regularly, daily, I could also teach you something. I respect other types of food.
    Even so, I prefer people related to my tastes and my way of life.
    -I like the tranquility, be with my dog ​​and cats, take care of the plants, the garden, the beach ... and cook.
    -The farm is supplied with solar energy, so you have to be careful with electric consumption.
    -The tap water is drinkable and comes from a spring in this mountain.
    -The nearest town is Facinas and it is 5 minutes away by car, 5 km walking. It would be good if you have some means of locomotion, car, etc. I can also take you somewhere when I leave. In Facinas you can take buses every day to Tarifa.
    -In your free time you can walk around, relax, go to the beach, climb, visit Tarifa, Vejer de la Frontera, Cadiz, all beautiful places.

    Otras cosas de interes:
    -Soy vegetariano (si tomo algo de queso), por cierto mi vecino de arriba hace queso natural de cabra y tambien tiene huevos de gallinas criadas en libertad por si os apetece. No fumo, ni bebo, ni me drogo. Hago yoga y meditacion regularmente, a diario, tambien podria enseñaros algo. Respeto otros tipos de alimentacion.
    Aun asi, prefiero personas afines a mis gustos y a mi forma de vida.
    -Me gusta la tranquilidad, estar con mi perra y gatos, cuidar las plantas, el huerto, la playa....y cocinar.
    -La finca se abastece de energia solar, por lo que hay que ser prudentes con el consumo electrico.
    -El agua del grifo es potable y viene de un manantial de esta montaña.
    -El pueblo mas cercano es Facinas y queda a 5 minutos en coche, 5 kilometros andando. Seria bueno si disponeis de algun medio de locomocion, coche, etc. Tambien yo puedo llevaros a algun sitio cuando salga. En Facinas podeis cojer autobus todos los dias hacia Tarifa.
    -En vuestro tiempo libre podeis pasear por el entorno, relajaros, ir a la playa, a escalar, de visita a Tarifa, a Vejer de la Frontera, a Cadiz, todos lugares hermosos.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hour/day, 5 days a week

the acomodation for volunteers...
the kitchen garden....el huerto
near the farm
Bolonia beach, 15 minutes by car
I like cooking
September-October'18 fenced 2.000 square meters, pruned of trees, planted of about 50 fruit trees, swales to conserve the water of rain, tracing of curves at level .... Thank,s a lot to all, without you it,d have been impossible.
September-October 2108

Host ref number: 726827865843