Farming, family and fun in Diggers Valley, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/06/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of almost 5 living in the beautiful Diggers Valley, located 15 minutes from Kaitaia in the Far North.

    We are dairy farming, milking 300 cows. We begin calving in mid-July. Our fun, cheeky son is 4 and our adventurous, joyous daughter is 2 . We would like some extra help with before our baby arrives at the beginning of December with house work, building/maintainence and general farm work. We will try to offer variety in the work we provide.

    When not working on our farm, we like to take little adventures around the area and enjoy our local beaches. We love to meet new people and learn about different cultures.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    By staying with us, you will learn about our Kiwi culture, be welcomed into our family and learn how a Northland dairy farm works.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need people who are good with animals and young children, can handle some heavy lifting and physical work. You could be required to help feed calves, garden, cook and clean. If you are inquisitive, show initiative and are willing to learn, we would love to meet you!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a sleep out close to the house with a double bed. Cooking and bathroom facilities will be shared with us. Food will be provided, with some cooking shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Hours may vary depending the time of year, but will be no more than 5 hours a day, with regular days off, to be decided between us on arrival. We live within 40 minutes of both East and West Coast beaches and some lovely bush areas. Cape Reinga is about 1.5 hours drive from our home.

    We work hard, but love to make time for our family, friends and new experiences. We would like someone who is polite, kind and curious. Enjoying children is a must!

    If we are lucky, maybe we will meet YOU!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 722874243317