Help a family with decorating, gardening and light building work in the rural area of Charente, France

  • Favourited 22 times
  • Last activity: 6 Jun 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hello All,

    My name is Kim and along with my wife Katrina our daughter Tattiana, 15, and son Sacha, 10, Peach 'the fat cat', 6 very scraggy chickens and 'Monsieur Le Cock', we invite you to come and spend some time with us here in the beautiful South West of France. I am English, my wife is German and the kids are French so we are definitely a product of the EU! We are situated just outside a small very sleepy village in a hamlet consisting of only 4 other houses. The nearest large town, Angouleme, is 30kms away but is complete with all the amenities you would expect. A smaller town with basic facilities is only 10 kms away. Angouleme even has an Ice Skating Rink and a Go Kart track!! Bordeaux and Poitiers are 1hr and 1hr 45mins away respectively.

    Our house is a large 4 bedroom farmhouse with 4 barns, a holiday gite, a mobile home, my wife's little 'soap studio', and a swimming pool, all set in 2.5 acres of mown lawn. The English love their grass! It's all surrounded by the beautiful sunflower crop so typical of this part of France.

    I am an ex musician but now an Airline Pilot, and my wife runs a small, but vibrant hand made soap company. When the kids are at home, Sacha spends his time racing around Go Kart tracks both in France and the U.K, and Tatti does what most 15yr olds do - texting and sleeping!!!!!

    We are a fun loving family where laughter, jokes, and music are never too far away. We love eating together having parties and BarBQues and visiting the many festivals and markets that are so common here during the summer months.

    So....... what do we want???? As a result of Sacha's racing, we spend a lot of time (far too much) in the UK and this has consequences for the house and garden. Last year it was a struggle just to keep the grass cut, and now basic house maintenance faults are in dire need of repair. Subject to the normal 'Workaway' rules, items such as shutters, wood window frames, roof maintenance, even some interior decorating, all need addressing.

    The garden has also suffered, although not as much, but fences, trees, flower beds, and general ground clearance all need attention. I would say that a measure of skill and fitness in the areas of gardening and painting/varnishing and general handyman (sorry, person) would be necessary for this assignment. Ideally, a couple would perfectly fit the task, due to the accommodation constraints.

    In return, we would provide you with accommodation in our holiday gite, which comprises of kitchen/diner, sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. With TV, DVD's, and WI FI together with its own secluded patio, it makes the perfect retreat from the day's activities. All meals will be provided - generally breakfast, lunch, and dinner. In addition we could organise (if you don't have transport) a trip or two (depending on the agreed period) to deliver and pick you up from Angouleme.

    If you think that this fits your idea of a 'Workaway' assignment, then we would be very pleased to hear from you. Although this is our first time seeking a 'Workaway' visit, we are used to people holidaying in our gite and all our experiences have been very positive so we will see this in the same light.

    In a perfect world sometime in May (for 2017) would suit us best. How does this suit you???
    Thank you, Kim Kat Tat and Sash.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn english, french or german

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    As mentioned before no hard work. A bit of help in the garden. Decorating and possible some light building work.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    It's a holiday cottage opposite our house. It comprises of a Shower room with toilet and basin, bedroom with double bed, sitting room and kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Great place to go running or walking as we are really country site. Local villages to explore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days a week

Host ref number: 722751774166