Help with a historical barn restoration and create a food forest in Annagry, Donegal Ireland

  • Ireland
  • Favourited 124 times
  • Last activity: 24 Aug 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We are a family of four living in a traditional farmhouse on 10 acres of land which looks onto a lake We plan to convert this into a forest garden, meadows and an orchard.

    We're currently in the process of restoring a traditional Irish barn built in the 1850s.

    Over the next few weeks we would be grateful for some help with the building work.
    We will also be focusing on getting a geodesic dome up and running with veg and herbs this spring. So all welcome with a sense of curiously and willingness for hands on and manual work.

    We live very near to some beautiful beaches and mountain ranges. Lovely for walks, climbling swimming. Also 20 mins drive from our National Park. We can help you find pursuits that may interest you on your weekends.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about traditional building techniques.
    Adventures and explorations in our beautiful landscapes. Beaches and spectacular mountain range near by. National forest park and castle - Great food and community

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Restoration of the 1850's barn.

    Need urgent help with roofing a historic barn.

    Desirable skills- Roofing - Carpentry and building skills would be great. Presently in the process of roofing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Will provide food - full board.

    Own space to stay - Caravan

    Those with their own campervans welcome

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To be immersed in beautiful surroundings.
    Swimming and walking our local beaches, mountain climbing, pub culture.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any size of van could be accommated

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 722212873972

Feedback (6)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help needed with timber milling and firewood processing in Kilkenny, Ireland
Join a busy outdoorsy family and help with our twin girls in Wicklow, Ireland