Share your experience and ideas as we create a garden at our place between Bruges and Gent, Belgium

Country

Belgium

updated  

Favourited 43 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple, Thimy and Gauthier, in our mid thirties and we live in the beautiful countryside of Flanders between Bruges and Gent. We live in renovated farmhouse on 2 hectares of land. Part of it is a field (that the local farmer help us maintain). We have a part of the garden (around 500m2) we would like to turn into an English garden. For the moment it is just a big lawn. I am quite new to gardening but I am very motivated and would love some help and ideas. I think it could be a great opportunity for gardening enthusiasts to work on a blank canvas. We would also love to extend our vegetable garden so we could be self sufficient. The ground is very fertile so it would be a shame not to take full advantage of such beautiful place.
    We have some chickens, a pet pig and 2 large dogs.
    I was born in Vietnam, raised in France and spent all my professional life as an expat (Hong Kong, Sydney and Athens).
    Gauthier is originally from the village and worked internationally for the last 15 years. We lived together in Athens. We both work from home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    After years of intensive travels, we have chosen a more balanced and healthy lifestyle. We are quiet and value peace and calm. We try to shop as much as possible at local organic farms and we also love to cook. You will be staying in an environment surrounded by comfort, nature and quietness. It is a great place to recharge. Between the 2 of us we speak French, English, Dutch, German, Spanish and Greek, so if you want to practice a language we are happy to switch.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help mainly with gardening but some paint job to maintain buildings might be required.
    It is the countryside, so the work can be physical.

    We would also love to hear from your experiences and ideas.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in the guesthouse which is a renovated barn. It is heated and fully furnished with comfort. It has 2 large bedrooms, a living room, a bathroom and a kitchenette.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home is 20 min from Ghent and from Bruges by car and 30min away from the coast.
    There is a direct bus at the end of our street that goes to the city center of Ghent and the train station Ghent St Pieters.
    Our place is 5min by bike from the nearest village.
    There are many walking paths around where you can go cycle and of course walk.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Internet connection throughout the property.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 719926326164