Help around the home and garden of a relaxed and caring family looking to share our little piece of the Perigord Vert in South West France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a relaxed and kind family of 3 (or 4 if you count the cat!) looking to open up our little piece of France to other like minded individuals. We would love to learn more about anyone interested in spending time with us. Our home is in a hamlet of about 6 other houses which is 3km from a village with all local amenities. Depending on the time of year/other house guests, accommodation would either be in the house or in a large tent in the garden (with a nice comfy bed!) We would love a little help in the house and the garden with the veg plot, mowing the grass, we have several little projects linked to the ongoing renovation, and playing games with our son would be an added bonus! We would love your ideas and input into our projects not just your labour! We are pretty relaxed and some days there would be lots to do and others not much at all, and anyone staying would be welcome to join us on outings to the river beaches etc, we want to share the places we love with you.
    We would provide 3 meals a day in return for your help. And don't let having special dietary requirements put you off, get in touch and we will see what we can accommodate as we have our own here too!
    We both run our own businesses and work from home the majority of the time.
    I have worked for over 20 years with young children so travellers with children would also be welcome, we are a very child friendly home.
    We would love to spend time getting to know new people, learning about you and from you and making some wonderful memories together.
    We have a 6 year old so would prefer non smokers and I am also a bit of a stickler for not using bad language in front of him!
    We speak both French and English fluently in the household, and my son loves learning new words in different languages!

    We currently have availability until the 18th October and then again from the 31st October 2019. Thanks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are in quite a rural location but there is still quite a lot going on and some lovely places to visit. We are also a family with quite a lot of hobbies - swimming, cycling, rock climbing, music (have a wide range of musical instruments), bicycles, darts, science, baking. We speak both French and English in the household and enjoy travelling and generally have a thirst for learning. We would be happy to share any skills we have with you and would be open to learning about the things that interest others too.

  • Help

    Help

    We are initially looking for help around the house and garden, with the veg plot and some ongoing renovations, stone wall building, woodwork, preparing the woodshed for the winter etc. English to French translating would also be useful if it happened to be a speciality of someone's, as would a willingness to interact with a busy and interesting 6 year old (currently mad keen on snakes but they are all plastic!) It is a mixed bag really and our projects are evolving all the time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Fluent French and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the time of year and other house guests accommodation will either be in a large tent in the garden or in your own room in our house. Both would have a nice comfortable bed! We have two bathrooms, one is shared with us the other with the cat!
    If a guest has a particular dietary requirement then we may be able to cater for it, as we have them ourselves and this is something we can happily chat about.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to do locally and we can definitely provide a bike for your time off and you are welcome to come with us on trips out etc. We don't want you to feel isolated here and would love for you to get to know the local area as it is really special to us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 719784344937