Come and experience life in a small yet busy town in Vilhelmina, Sweden



Favourited 320 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  • Description


    English family living in Southern Lappland. We have 1 teen just finishing Highschool, Luke 19 August 2020.
    We have had wonderful workaways for the last 5 years but now need more specific jobs listed below.
    We bought our old heritage house built end of 19th century.

    Can offer a nice quiet village, nice scenery and if want to you can discover discover further interesting places in the north of Sweden plus other routes to Norway and Finland. The Village has an Ice-Hockey stadium, a local centre for swimming, bowling, cinema, library and local places of interest. If you come in winter, then sports include skiing,snow mobiles, ice-fishing, etc.

    We have an apartment in the house that can be used as accommodation for a couple, two friends sharing, etc.
    Presently being renovated and skills below are wanted.

    End of 2018/19, We needed help with interior design, plumbing ,electrical, painting ,building skill are important for completing renovation project this year. Professionals welcome.

    Also my wife would like to develop garden and develop an area for tourist who come to the cafe. Part of cafe atmosphere is music, so any musicians come and play for us all summer.

    2020 We are in process of moving, so welcome anyone willing to pack, throw away and handy with woodwork.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will experience life in a small yet busy town with the added bonus of being able to communicate if they speak english. The cafe will offer meeting people from all parts of Europe(Germany Switzerland, and more) To join in the cultural events of the season when they come, Mid-Summer as an example.

  • Help


    See our family and organisation.
    We would appreciate help with painting work and outside work. We would also appreciate language help in cafe - if volunteers can speak and understand Swedish that would help especially Victoria who runs the cafe at certain times of the year but for her it is more important that you enjoy baking and are full of ideas how to make the cafe more interesting. If you are musical that would be a wonderful bonus as customers love to hear live music and the cafe can organise music events. Victoria sings and plays the guitar so come and join in!!!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a small apartment and rooms up in the main living area.
    You would ofcourse be welcome to join with family for dinner,TV and other facilities in main living area. But you can self-cater with food provided if you want to

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Would be advantage if can drive our car.
    We are generally lay-back family but enjoy music with Christian and Irish/Scottish roots. We do have a group called McRoar, led by Victoria who is the singer and acoustic guitar, Rory 19 in January plays violin and mandolin, Markus 18 (Swedish friend from Vilhelmina) plays wind-instruments. Rory and Markus study 3 hours away but finish schooling June 2015. The band now not operating as Rory studying in Uk and Markus studying in Orebro, both in music degrees. Victoria though still playing in local Church.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours - max 25 hours

Host ref number: 718869425244