Join our small family living on a boat in Gent, Belgium

Country

Belgium

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/01/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    429

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are a small family living on a boat in Gent, Belgium who are looking for extra help with our busy lives. Our family consists of ourselves- Erica and Jan a Belgian/ British couple and our energetic and fun 4 year old Kasper.

    A bit about us:
    Erica works full time as a teacher in an international school and is also busy studying a long distance Montessori pedagogy course.
    Jan is a true seaman and works on tug boats however for the moment he is busy working on the boat and renovating our house.
    Kasper is a typical 4 year old- full of life, energy and extremely inquisitive- he loves having guests to stay and interacts enthusiastically with others. He goes to the local Steiner school during the day and is home at 3pm.

    We are an open minded family looking to welcome people from all over the world. We have recently returned to Belgium following 2 years in Serbia and before that spent a year living in Cambodia- we miss the travelling life and therefore happy to be able to experience it through welcoming others into our home.

    Boat life has many advantages- we have a small boat for boat trips, a kayak that can be used, as well as a big terrace which is great on sunny days. Our location in Gent is perfect for those wishing to discover the city and it's many charms. We are 5 minutes cycle from the start of the historical city centre and have numerous bikes that can be used to get around the city.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are perfectly situated in Gent to be able to explore the richness of the city and it's cultural heritage. It is also a student city and has plenty of fun and interesting things to do and discover and a sizable international community. Jan is a native Dutch speaker, Erica is British so for those of you who wish to improve their language skills we are happy to help with this. Gent is 40 minutes by train to Bruges, Antwerp and Brussels so there is plenty of opportunity to explore the surroundings and see what they have to offer. Equally living on a boat is a unique experience and there are plenty of opportunities to explore the waterways by kayak or motor boat if you desire.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like help with numerous things; shopping, light housework, cooking, child care as well as working on the boat and our house.
    Child care would involve helping in the mornings getting Kasper up and dressed and sometimes doing the school run as well as childcare responsibilities after school.
    Cooking/ shopping; we eat organic, food can be prepared together or alone
    Light housework; vacuuming, washing up, washing
    The boat; sanding and painting under supervision from Jan.
    General Maintenance; Sometimes Jan needs help moving furniture or running errands fixing something in our house.
    Gardening; we have a large terrace with lots of pots which we attempt to make look beautiful in the summer. Neither of us is however very good at this so anyone with green fingers and able to give advice would be wonderful!

    Obviously you don't have to be able to help with all these things- we're happy to work with your skills and aptitudes. The only things we really require are enthusiasm, flexibility and a love for children.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 2 double bedrooms available, each with an ensuite bathroom although one of the rooms is used as an office during the day (this room will only be used if there are more than 2 people staying). The whole boat is heated and is NOT cold during the winter months. There is a large living area upstairs, 4 bedrooms downstairs and a large kitchen. We love to cook and eat as a family every evening, for health reasons we eat organic meat and vegetables and no grains. We are happy to cater to other dietary needs (e.g. vegetarian or vegan) but in that case you would need to be prepared to cook more yourself.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The local area
Bridge into the city
Host ref number: 718347583278