Indoor and Outdoor help around the home on a busy farm in Featherston, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 190 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Phil and I (a couple in our late 30's) live with our children, Jonty (just about 2) and Zara (5 months) live on a farm 5 minutes out of Featherston (a town in the Lower North Island on the East Coast). Just 10 minutes from funky Greytown and 15 minutes to the vineyards of Martinborough and 1 hour from the capital city, Wellington on the train, we are very central to lots of great Wairarapa sights!

    We love all things outdoors - we have horses, motorbikes, a boat and pets.

    We will have only just moved to this farm in late October, so we are looking for people that are practical and don't mind getting their hands dirty - helping with gardening, planting, painting, cooking and general handiwork as we establish ourselves in our new place. Anyone with building or general handyman experience and/or childcare experience will be welcomed!

    Phil will be doing some huge hours during this time and I am currently home with the children on maternity leave, so will be doing as much as I can in and around the house, around the children. We would love people that are also happy to help out around and in the house, to work in the garden, to look after & walk Ralphy and Koda (the Labradors) and that love children.

    We May make one of our cars available if you are experienced driver and we are not in need of both at that time. You will be responsible for the excess ($1200) in the case of any incident.

    You will have your own large room that's in a separate building from the main house.

    We are also big meat-eaters, coming from a farm so vegetarians/vegans not preferred.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning about cropping farming and family life in NZ

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening
    Planting
    Painting (interior and exterior)
    Building, if able too
    Cooking and baking if you like too!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own bedroom that's adjacent to stand-alone garage.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you are looking to do the following you will need your own car.

    Local beaches - Pirinoa, Castlepoint or Riversdale
    15 minutes from Martinborough - wineries
    10 minutes from Greytown - boutique shopping and cafes
    5 minutes from Featherston - local township
    20 minutes from access to Tararua ranges - tramping and camping
    1 hour from Wellington - Capital city by train

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week












Host ref number: 717932435755