Help build a cob home for my family in Southern AZ, USA

Country

United States

new host  

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/11/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This will be the first home I ever built and also the first place my family can actually call home; it will be a life milestone!

    •••

    I believe in getting things done, but I also believe in the slow and steady lifestyle. As a single parent of two little ones, I do not like to overwork myself and I like to plan accordingly. I want all involved to enjoy the process of this project; the planning, emotions, and learning that comes with it all. I also wish to point out two more things… I believe everyone’s space and time should be respected; if you ever need a “day off” or wish to take time to yourself, I am capable of understanding and respecting that. Secondly and most importantly, you will be treated as family; I will ensure you are comfortable and valued during your stay with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A few things I am interested in/studying: Entomology, insect taxidermy, botany, palletecture, hydropower, solar-powered vehicles, ecotherapy, sound healing, movement therapy, economics, habitat surveying, survival skills, supporting the local community, land law, Indigenous history and spirituality, nephology, and Mullein.

    I also am taking the time to learn how to use my analog camera and diving into film making…

    If any of these interests you or you have knowledge or skill in, please let me know.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Part 1:

    • Beginning the week of 11/22/21, I will begin the process of creating a driveway and walkway. This will include measuring the area where the driveway will be placed, pruning/removing plants, and laying out gravel.

    * During this time I will also be finalizing and doing any necessary tweaking to the design of our home (I am open to any design ideas you may have!).


    Part 2:

    • Once the driveway and walkway are complete, the next step is to begin the construction of our home. The part includes measuring and clearing out the area where the house will be placed, trench digging, and laying out a foundation.


    Part 3:

    Putting up the pallet structure and installing windows and doors.


    Part 4:

    • Completing roofing and insulation and creating a rain catchment system.


    Part 5:

    • Cobbing and plastering the structure and flooring.


    Part 6:

    • Installing kitchen and indoor compost bathroom material. As well as doing any necessary touch ups and tweaking.


    Part 7:

    • Celebrate and move in!


    Other projects you can join in:

    • Creating a compost box

    • Creating an outdoor shower/tub house

    • Fencing

    • Gardening (the main idea is to begin growing a variety of plants for cooking, teas, tinctures, and for every day use)

    • Evening out roads and taking measures to decrease dust raising factors

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am currently focused on learning Spanish, however, I am open to learning any other language as well!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My property currently has no amenities or construction on it of any kind.


    What I can provide:

    • A tent and bedding

    • I am able to provide food, however, I must note that I am on a budget. If this will be a possible issue for you, one option is to utilize the local weekly food drives.


    What you need to know/provide for yourself:

    • There is no toilet

    • There is no shower/tub

    • There is no electricity/power source or electrical hookups available

    • There is no water system setup or water hook ups available; water may be picked up at a local water mill

    • There is no washer/dryer available; one option is to utilize the local coin-operated laundry mat in Douglas

    • You will need to have your own cooking setup

    • Trash must be dumped at local participating dump locations

    • I can host a family if two people aren’t already on site.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    • We are located between the Sonoran and Chihuahuan deserts and right off of Highway 80; about 20 minutes between and from Bisbee and Douglas. We are immersed in nature, away from light pollution (you can actually see stars at night!), and there is a plethora of wildlife (varying from Javelinas to Robber flies) for you to observe and learn about. Me and my family actually moved out here late July of 2021 and are still exploring these cities. From what we have discovered so far, there are always events and programs occurring in Bisbee (from Chi Gong classes to the local Bisbee Saturday Market). Douglas is a city located near the infamous US-Mexico border; it has a predominantly Hispanic/Latinx population. If you wish to learn about or engage in Mexican culture, Douglas is the way to go. Being out here is a great balance of an nature oasis, city life, and culture.

    • My friends Katie and Jojo (they are also Workaway hosts!) who have lived out here for 2 years can assist you with any questions that you may have in regards to native plants and wildlife, cob houses, what to expect during the different seasons in our area, and local places you can visit that I may not be able to answer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    What kind of pet do you have?

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2 hours a day, 3-4 days a week


Host ref number: 715143753793