General house and garden stuff. Don’t be put off by my list....Painting, gardening and home help in the bush with mountain and river views West Hobart, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I live in a bush setting with mountain and river views, all within walking distance to CBD. That’s a big bonus, you don’t have to rely on public transport. I am a teacher of foods, nutrition, hospitality and work readiness. I instruct Pilates. I also cycle, road ride and MTB.

    My family have grown and are living their own lives. I love hosting and meeting travellers from diverse cultures and backgrounds. My ideal Workaway is someone who has energy to do gardening in a bush setting, or some weatherboard painting and just general jobs around the house. Nothing too technical ! In return I can cook you a great meal and I’m pretty enthusiastic about healthy eating and living an active life.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will learn about our Australian culture, how we appear to be relaxed but also hard working. At my house you will see native wildlife, all harmless and very cute.

  • Help

    Help

    A bush block that requires the spreading of mulch, fixing up steps, planting large ferns.
    Preparing some small sections of weatherboards to paint. Paint a large ceiling inside house. Prepare a large deck for staining, I have a Karcher and good quality tools and equipment. Nothing too hard or strenuous, just takes time and is often weather dependent.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a lovely bedroom available with a double bed. It’s a small room and can accommodate a couple. The main living areas in my house are very spacious and open plan, so no need to trip over each other. A great kitchen with a good range of cooking equipment. Microwave, oven, flat toaster. Large flat screen TV with Foxtel in living area, I like a bit of sport! Heating is a wood heater in lounge and a heat pump. A bathroom whilst small is very clean airy with great hot water!
    I can cook. You can cook. I will provide more than staples in food for all your meals within reason of course.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Loads to do in your time off. I don’t expect you to work your fingers to the bone! We would negotiate what is reasonable and fair.
    Easy walking to waterfront, botanical Garden, to MONA ferry or you can catch local bus. Heaps of eating places, bars and cafes to hang out all with a range of prices. Walks up from my street for great city views or walk to women’s prison and Cascade brewery. Once again I can advise dependent on your preferred activities

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 713685973884