Help us at our organic orchard close to Castlemaine, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/04/2020

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We run an organic orchard growing cherries, apricots, peaches, nectarines, plums, apples and pears. We are a friendly family with a beautiful big old granite farmhouse, 5 grown-up kids who visit regularly, and two dogs (who live outside). We're currently setting up a brand new model for farming in that our farm also hosts a number of other small organic farming businesses. We're close to Castlemaine which has great food, markets and community. We eat a delicious organic diet, much of it home grown.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Farmstay help

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Visitors live in the house with us, share meals and conversation together, and come with us when we go out. They are welcomed into our family and our community while they're with us. We have an interesting and diverse community on the farm, and we are strongly connected to our local community as well, so it's a unique opportunity to experience Australian rural life from the inside.

  • Help

    Help

    Supervised seasonal tasks on the farm are many and varied. Depending on the season they may include fruit thinning, picking and packing, helping at markets, weeding, spreading compost, making jam, pruning or watering. Visitors are welcome to cook if they love cooking, and everyone shares the washing up roster.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own bedroom in our historic granite farmhouse with a comfortable double bed, heater and WiFi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in the middle of a popular Goldfields tourist area with lots of things to do, and our farm is on the edge of a beautiful Mountain bush park with trails for walking and mountain bikes. There's plenty of time for sightseeing and leisure activities on the weekends - the farm is just 10 minutes from the nearest railway station, and we're happy to drive visitors to the station or bus stop.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 712431245873