Bilingual homeschooling family moving to Texas, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 126 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    245

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are always looking for new experiences, meeting new people and an extra set of hands around the house!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a bilingual family (Dutch and English) so we are happy to teach you either language. We would love to explore the area with you, and learn about our new hometown/ State.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Hello!
    We are a Bilingual homeschooling family. Abby is a stay at home mom who was born and raised in Holland, and home schools the kids to ensure their fluency in both languages and give us freedom to travel. Shawn works from home at a computer job. We have 2 kids, Milo(boy)aged 10 who is super sweet, friendly, polite and sensitive and loves playing outside and videogames. Maeven(girl) is aged 7, outgoing, super sassy, loves to play outside, dolls, dress up and all things girly . We love to travel, explore and learn new things, and enjoy having people around to show around, we often host exchange students and the like, and love learning/meeting new people/cultures. We are outgoing, active and enjoy crossfit as a family, but also like to hang out at home. We tend to eat a healthy whole foods diet and cook from scratch every day.
    We don't necessary have a super specific list of jobs/schedule, but would love to have someone around to help Abby out, cooking/cleaning, fold some laundry, that kind of thing. Someone who sees what needs to be done and takes initiative would be great. I would love for someone to enjoy engaging the kids in fun activities at home while I get some other stuff done in the house, play outside with them, and even teach the kids and I a language or other skills if you have them. We are also looking to maybe visit some museums or other activites around the area, and would love to have someone around to help plan/ research and of course join us on fun activities/daytrips.
    If all that doesn't really sound like your thing, but you are super handy and can fix fences, or other handyman work, we would be open to that too! We have a nice backyard that I've been wanting to start a garden in with the kids, but I do not have much of a green thumb, so if you have great gardening skills, we would be open to that too!

    We board dogs, so looking for dog friendly people only:)

    Right now, we are about to move to Texas(Dallas area)from WA and would love some help unpacking, getting organized and exploring our new State!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are moving to a beautiful 5 bedroom house, with a yard and a pool next to our house(seasonal). Once we have unpacked we will have a guest room with bed, closet, and shared bathroom with the kids. However, untill we get to the new house and have unloaded, we might be camping out in the house a bit😜We would love for you to join us to help unpack, get settled, help with the kids and meals. We tend to cook from scratch and eat a whole foods, clean diet, but while moving this might look a bit different than normal. We could totally accommodate restricted diets like dairy and/or gluten free as well!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a minivan that seats 8, so we'd use that to get around if you don't have your own car. Since we haven't been able to familiarize ourselves with our new area, we are nit sure how public transport is, or what all is around, but we can explore together!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have great internet as my husband also relies on it for work

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs welcomw, no cats

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 712322692734