Move away from the hustle and bustle to experience a slower time in the rain forest of Belize



Favourited 179 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days


 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a couple living in the rain forest in the remote southern region of Belize on 47 acres. The area consists of small Mayan and Belizean villages. We are 9 miles from the Caribbean Sea.

    We are Ronnie and Brenda. Ronnie is a retired Tarot card reader. Brenda still works a full-time job at a US company...remotely. We are both from the US. Ronnie is from the south, Brenda is from the north. We are good cooks and enjoy learning new recipes.

    Belize is an English speaking country, but many languages are spoken here. We study Spanish and hope some people would like to help us along in becoming fluent.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Taking a step back in time from the hustle and bustle of modern living to experience a slower time. No traffic, no red lights at any intersection! We have Mayan helpers on site.

  • Help


    We need general labor for projects and upkeep around the house and property. Painting, sanding, cleaning, construction, some gardening. We are versatile in the work hours, but generally want 4-5 hours, 4 days a week. If you have skills, please tell us so we can plan the projects with that in mind.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    One bedroom with shower bath in separate building. Internet- intermittent. Cell signal - weak.
    Lunch and dinner provided

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus to town at front gate. Many Mayan ruins within 20 miles. Rivers and caves within 10 miles.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 699544882169