Cuddle my cats and ski, snowboard high up in the Rhodopi mountains, Bulgaria

  • Favourited 217 times
  • Last activity: 2 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to my house

    Calling digital nomads skiers/ snowboarders welcome.
    I am putting out feelers as to whether there is a solo or a couple who would like to live in my house for longer than I usually ask?
    I have two possibilities:-

    1. Stay for a month.

    2. Stay for 3-6 months.

    If either of these appeal to you, please get in touch to discuss possibilities.
    Chepelare is a lovely place all year round.
    Hiking, running,spas and cycling in spring, summer and autumn. Skiing and snowboarding in the winter.

    You must do your own research on the resort's and prices. Chepelare is local and Pamporovo is up the mountain road a few Kms.

    Please kindly note I ONLY need care for my cats
    and water my plants in my absence. I work from home and cannot host volunteers when I am at home. Sorry.

    I need a confident and reliable volunteer for my cats.
    YOU MUST LOVE CATS AND BE ABLE TO CUDDLE AND CARE FOR THEM.

    Better for a couple or a loner type/digital nomad.

    I am a 64 year old retired British Registered General Nurse and also an artist. I live in the amazingly beautiful Rhodope mountains in a traditional Bulgarian stone house I renovated from just a shell.

    The view from the house is fabulous and very inspiring. My house has the sun all day, and faces the local ski slopes.
    The weather here is known for sunshine 🌄 and clear night skies for stargazing.

    I have five adorable, friendly cats who need food and cuddles whenever I am away.
    I am a volunteer for art projects and for female empowerment in Sri Lanka myself. I also built a cabana next to the beach in Sri Lanka.

    I need to make the most of my flight tickets and visa and spend at least a month there at a time.
    If I found a workawayer who was responsible and happy here for longer that would be great too.

    So I don't require hard work from you. You need to feed, water and love my cats. Please also water my plants. That's all!

    Other than that, you can have all the time to yourself. Write a book, paint, draw or craft in my studio space.
    I have some art materials you can use.
    The town has a cafe culture vibe. You can live on very little money here in one of the cheapest countries in Europe. A beer is .60 Euro, a cappuccino from .50 a bottle of decent wine 4 Euros.
    There are many attractions to visit by bus and it is a short walk into the town to shop.
    You will ideally spend a day with me first and I will show you all you need - post office, ATM s, pharmacy etc.
    I will also spoil you with food of your choice. If you are vegetarian we have wonderful organic fruit and vegetables here in our Tuesday market.
    Plovdiv the nearest city is a bus ride away. You can find a cheap and nice hostel there to stay overnight.
    City of European culture 2019 and continuously inhabited for the last 8,000 years, Plovdiv has Roman ruins, a historic museum Old Town, gold treasures, a stunning amphitheatre and gladiator arena.

    Many excavations are in progress.
    There is an whole art district full of little galleries. Plenty of shopping and SHOE shops everywhere!
    There are bars and restaurants and much to explore.
    Up and down the mountain there are many attractions. Pamporovo resort and the tower lookout cafe. You can see the sun shining on the Greek sea!

    Bachkovo Monastery for lunch next to the waterfall.
    Assens fortress perched high on the mountain. Wonderful Bridges, Yagodini Caves, a local zip line, Shiroka Luka a museum heritage village and more.

    We have many spa towns in Bulgaria which are very affordable.

    Devin, Hisar and Velingrad for example. Soak your aches and pains away in soothing mineral waters.

    My house is very near the Greek border, so you can drive to the coast easily.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is headspace here for thinking and being creative. Time to study, read, write a book or create a painting. If you like to carve wood or upcycle stuff there is all sorts of personal projects you could do.

    I normally work via my internet connection which is good enough for browsing, research and of course Netflix!

    I have some books in English.

    If you want to buy skis or ski wear, we have the main ski ⛷️ factory for Europe here as our main employer.

    I can show you how to prepare some traditional Bulgarian dishes. You are welcome to make jams, pickles etc from our lovely fresh fruit and vegetables.
    You can also help yourself to my preserved foods.

  • Help

    Help

    Feed, water and cuddle my six cats. Water my plants.
    Look after the house securely.
    If you have specific skills there may be some small jobs you can help me with.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Bulgarian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can sleep in a room with a balcony and King 👑 size bed, or my guest room with a very comfortable double bed and an electric blanket. There is a wet room with toilet, shower and hand basin.
    The garden is steep, and the mountain is directly behind the house.
    If you prefer you can sleep on the divan/sofa bed in the lounge. There is a wood burner and wood available so it is very cosy. The kitchen is very small but has an oven, hob, microwave and washing machine.
    You can barbecue outside if you improvise.
    The lounge has a table with the WiFi router next to it. Bring your laptop and work with an incredible view.

    My bills are very low as I am careful with resources. I expect you to be diligent about turning off lights and only using what you need.
    Please don't waste water or electricity. Electricity is the one relatively expensive resource here!
    Lastly my house is definitely not sophisticated or posh. I would describe it as very rustic. Think of your stay as very cosy and comfortable 'glamping'!

    If the sight of a cobweb shocks you, or a flock of sheep trotting through the garden scares you, mountain life may not be for you!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local buses are cheap and reliable all year round. 10-15 mins walk downhill to the bus station.

    Cost one way from Sofia is 27
    Plovdiv costs about 10 levs each way.. The hostel I use there is 22 evs per night per person.

    If you would like to spend time in Sofia, Veliko Turnavo or the Black Sea coast on the way to or from me I can advise and help you to arrange.
    Anything else you want to do ask me I will try to find out for you.
    My neighbours are friendly and simple folk. Only one person speaks a little English, but many people in town do as we are a winter ❄️ ski resort.
    I will make sure that you have an English speaking emergency contact.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You can sit at a table next to the window with a panoramic view of the beautiful mountains and night skies. You can work right next to the WiFi router which is very reliable. Light my wood burner and cuddle up to my cats!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    No work as such. Look after the cats and clean up. I would like you to arrive one full day before I leave so I can show you around the house and town.

Host ref number: 697277779857

Feedback (7)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Finish rooms for kids in Elhovo, Bulgaria
Help with Ponies and (Rescue) Dogs -, Bratya Daskalovi, Bulgaria