Opportunity to meditate and spend time in nature while helping us with various tasks in Zagorje, Croatia

Country

Croatia

updated  

Favourited 66 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    About the place:
    House is big enough for 3 people, each having their room. I'd like to provide opportunity to meditators who live in a busy environment to spend dedicated time in seclusion, developing the inner peace and wisdom.

    I would prefer to host serious buddhist meditators who are happy to spend most of the time in silent contemplation. Food is vegetarian, no alcohol is consumed. We don’t provide entertainment (e.g. movies, Facebook etc.). We do have Internet and use it for arranging things and for work.


    About me:
    I am 38, an entrepreneur who started a few successful projects in the IT/ Internet. My passions are meditation and buddhism. I recently bought this modern house on a hill surrounded by nature- it should serve as a meditation hermitage. Most of the time, I live here alone.

    How long can you stay?
    Your first stay should roughly last 1 week (exceptions can be made). Once we see both parties are happy, we can prolong the period.

    House rules
    Most important ones are: we appreciate silence, we care for all living beings (do not kill even small insects), we abide to moral precepts and practise celibacy. And we have a daily timetable which includes meditation sessions in the morning and in the evening.

    What’s included
    You’ll get accommodation in private room and free food.

    Food
    We serve simple and nutritious food - breakfast and lunch.. In the evening lunch leftovers or some light meals like fruits are available.

    Free time Opportunities:
    Zagreb is close by (less than an hour drive). I go to Zagreb for business 2 times a week so you can join and spend a day there. Also, there is a direct bus going to Zagreb.

    The area you’ll spend time in is located on warm underwater springs and a few places around provide SPA/ Swimming facilities. Forests and hills are in walking distance.

    Work periods
    You are asked to help with the chores 3 hours a day and not more than that. Primarily, you’ll help with kitchen (need to be able to prepare lunch) and house cleaning.

    Next steps
    If you have an interest in staying and think you’re a good match please get in touch. If we have free accommodation next step would be a phone interview.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This area of Croatia is very green with forests and hills. Since you’ll be here on some sort of a meditation retreat, there shouldn't be much cultural exchange.. However, since I have a strong buddhist background there is the opportunity to explore this subject. Sometimes we get visits by buddhist monks who live in Slovenia (which is near us).
    As for the sightseeing and other touristy stuff, Zagreb is very close- you can get there by car, by bus or by train in one hour.

  • Help

    Help

    The focus is not on work but it is expected that you help in some way and in that way compensate for a free food and stay.
    Primarily - you'll do the cooking and cleaning.
    We also have gardening, painting, repairing and arts projects.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, german, croatian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    a house on a hill, you'll have your room with bathroom and a terrace

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can walk in the forest or in the garden.. meditate.. read (I have a large collection of books on Buddhism) or do your work on laptop.. village is 20 min walk (or 5 min. with a car) and offers coffee place and dining.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 6 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 695246959987