Help required in the house and garden in the beautiful Dordogne

Country

France

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/05/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Debbie and Steve and we moved to France in 2010 to live our dream. We live in a house with a very large garden on the edge of a beautiful market town which is situated in the Perigord Limousine National Park. We have 2 dogs, 2 cats and a small flock of chickens.
    We have been renovating the house since 2008 during our holidays and more often since our full time move. We are at the stage now where it is more decoration than building. There is plenty to do outside making flower beds and transforming an overgrown vegetable garden.
    We enjoy a number of hobbies which include sewing and paper crafts, wood burning crafts, making jewellery, cooking, baking, my speciality being cupcakes and of course socialising.
    Our town hosts a very large market once a week which sells everything for food basics, to live chickens, tractors and furniture, plus many other things.
    There are many places to visit and it may be possible to borrow bicycles to to get around if you have no transport.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people who are willing to work or assist us for approximately 3-4 hours a day, but this is very flexible. You may wish to work longer on some days to have more free time to explore. We can accommodate individuals, couples or friends.
    We have done the main building work but would now really appreciate some help decorating the house and assisting in general maintenance.
    We have a wood burning fire which heats the whole house and so there is always wood to cut and stack throughout the year.
    Our garden is just over an acre in size and so needs lots of TLC. We do have a ride on mower which saves some time, but there is always something needs doing. We have lots of fruit bushes and trees so at various times in the year we have gluts of produce that requires preserving.
    We need to build a new terrace and lay paths.
    Some of our fruit trees are getting quite big and need a little trading and pruning back to make them more manageable.
    When we originally bought the house the garden pretty much resembled a field but over the years we have managed to make it look more like a garden but we still need to build on that by making more flower beds and features for the garden.
    The vegetable plot is over grown currently and really does need an injection of care, but we just have not had the time this year to devote to it, which is very sad.
    We have 2 lovely rescue dogs, one is very timid and we love to go for long walks, help walking them would be lovely. We also have 2 affectionate rescue cats and a small flock of chickens who demand their share of attention.
    I love cooking and baking but am more than happy to share cooking if you would like.
    There is always something to do and help would be appreciated.
    The list looks long but we are not slave drivers and don't expect anyone to do everything.
    We would just appreciate a fair few hours work in return for a comfortable room and 3 meals a day.
    Once a year we are involved in organizing a local charity garden party where the money is divided between cancer charities and other local charities and there is always lots to do beforehand in the preparation, execution and clear up afterwards. It's hard work but great fun and definately worth it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a large comfortable modern double bedroom with a separate day bed which has a tv and video if you like some quiet time. Next door is a brand new modern bathroom which you would have sole use of.
    We have broadband internet access.
    Smoking would not be permitted inside the house.
    We can collect from local train station or airport if you do not have your own transport

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a very beautiful part of the Dordogne with some pretty towns close by which can be visited. We frequently have days out and would welcome you to join us to explore. There are fabulous walks around the area and a lake nearby with outside gym equipment. It is 10 minutes walk into the local town which has a couple of bars restaurants,tabac, a few shops especially an ice cream shop but definately no late bars, clubs, discos or karaoke. The town hosts a very large market on a wednesday which sells everything from food, livestock to furniture and fancy goods.
    Life here is friendly, relaxed and wonderful.
    We are members of a local leisure group in a nearby village which holds yoga and Zumba classes, regular walks and craft sessions and Debbie also attends a local country line dancing group.

    Please note that there is no public transport in this area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Approximately 3-4 hours a day, very flexible

having my dinner during one of the local organised night walks. these are great fun and dinner is provided, course by course at different locations
self propelled ferry to cross the Lake at Saint Estephe
a morning walk with the dogs around the lake at Saint Estephe
some of our vegetable harvest
winter sunset in our garden
Brantome, also known as Little Venice, you can go canoeing or take a short boat trip on the river here. There is a huge Abbey and lots of bars, restaurants and shops packed into the town.
Beautiful village of Saint jean de Cole which hosts a massive flower festival and fayre every May
our first BBQ, we are good at adapting things
A beautiful garden visitor
A selfie of me and Steve, we are better in real life
Front terrace
View from terrace
View down the garden
Our terrace with view of some of the garden
Lucy, our other rescue dog sniffing out the front of our house
Billy Boy, rescue cat and brother to Milly Moo
Milly Moo, rescue cat
Biscuit, one of our rescue dogs
The front of our house
Hosting the cake stall at a local charity event


Host ref number: 694529547777