Help with handling dogs at a racing kennel, housework woodcutting and more at our farm in the North of Norway.



Favourited 311 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 36 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    Wanna join us longterm from may 2020?
    A beautiful old style farm in Northern part of Norway, Storslett. Placed in a valley next to the salmonriver, Reisaelva. At the farm it about 30 Alaskan huskies used for racing, one cat and one labradoodle.The main goal this winterseason is Finnmarksløpet.
    Here is specaculare nature and heartbeating silence.
    We are a couple at 35 and 25 years.
    Our main project is training- and breed dogs for racing and take care of the farmbuildings, woods, old roads and the riverbed.

    People with experience with huskies will be preferred, but its not necessary.
    From April 2020 I am looking for long term handler that could stay over the summer and maybe over the winterseason 2020/2021.

    Some worktaskes between april/may to august:
    - General housework
    - Cooking
    - Feeding and watering dogs, both A-team and B-team
    - Cleaning dogyards
    - Walking and socialization of puppies
    - Woodcutting
    - Paintwork
    - Help with building
    - Work in the garden
    - Help with training the dogs with a training cart or ATV when the temperatures are ok.

    Please also notice that our house and dog-kennel is located in the forest with no next door neighbors, outside a small town, and you won't have a lot of transport possibilities.

    Some worktaskes between august to april/may:
    - Feeding and watering dogs
    - Cleaning dog-yards
    - Dogtraining
    - Walking and socialization of puppies
    - Shoveling snow
    - Cooking
    - General housekeeping
    - Woodcutting

    • In good physical shape
    • You have no health problems that limits you in doing physical tasks
    • Great communication skills
    • Hardworking, responsible, and flexible.
    • You must have a passion for sled-dogs and genuinely interested in dogs. They are my precious.t
    • You musy be a self-starter. If there’s not something going on, it’s really nice to have someone that just starts doing tasks.

    In august I start training the dogs about 10 km, and we are increasing the distance of training every month. In november the trips are between 50 and 100 km,

    We expact you to take part in all the dog-training, not only the "sunny-days". It means that the training days are long and dark, sometimes hard in tough weather, and it will be much more than 5-hour days. You need passion for dogs and longdistance dogtraining to handle this. It will be cold and long days at the sled.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Can learn of the way of life at a calm and old farm with slit of history from days way back. Here its seasapmi and kven-culture. At the farm it sledogslifestyle, and the dogs is a main part of the family.

  • Help


    The main tasks is handling dog and train them when you feel able to. Maintance in dogyard, feeding, take care of puppies and other things that follow a dogracingkennel. Also some housekeeping, cooking, woodcutting to prepare wintertime and other normal maintaince at the farm buildings, wood and roads.
    Have no tourist with the dogs. I own an old style farm that need maintaince, woodcutting for the winter and that kind of necessery things.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Norwegian

  • Accommodation


    A bedroom in the mainhouse, handlerhouse or caravan. Depend of time and free space.
    Food, shower and toilet always availeble in the main house, or you got money to buy by your self at the shop.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    At time of you have alot of natureoptions around the farm with hiking, skiing, fishing, pick berrys etc,
    Its about 15-20 min to the sentrum Storslett where its some shops.
    Bustransport to Storslett Terminal or flight from Tromsø to Sørkjosen. I`ll pick you up there.
    I live my life a calm way with the dogs and nature around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 694388443864