Family on a farm in the North East side of Iceland :)

Country

Iceland

Favourited 348 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of six and we live in a beautiful country in north-east part of Iceland, close to Husavik, about 15 min drive to Husavik. One hour drive to Akureyri. The children are aged from 6-15, 3 boys and one girl. Isar is 6, Kalli is 11 and Birta and Arni (twins) are 15 years old. I am 39 (Inga) and Jon is 40. Jon also has a daughter who comes from time to time and she lives with her mom in Husavik, she is also 15 years old. Me and Jon only have Isar and Kalli together, and the twins goes every other weekend to Akureyri, to see their dad. Birta rides alot with me, and she is a really talented rider (but is scared to ride the young ones) Isar is in playschool and Arni is in a soccer team in Husavik, and practies 4 days a week (monday-friday). They all start their summer vacation 1. june and school starts useally around 22-25. of august.

    We have horses and sheep. Me and my husband both work outside the farm. So the farming is kind of a hobby ;) but takes a lot of time :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Hopefully learn something, and improve riding skills, and just, hopefully enjoy the stay :)

  • Help

    Help

    Drivers license is necessary!!


    Experienced rider, who can train the horses and is familiar with the Icelandic horse (and tölt, and knows the difference between trotting and tölting), and can ride alone and in a group (with one or more in the family). Who can also ride the young ones, and isn't scared if and when they run if they get scared, or rear and buck, and is willing to learn. And knows how to ride with the hole body, not only the rain. I dont have a riding hall, my horses are always outside during the summer. Training and riding is for fun :) Someone who knows how to put down a fence is a big plus, as well as driving tractor.

    BUT, also, we are a family, and both me and Jon work outside the farm, and often Jon isn't home much, and me (Inga) is working from 8-16 (sometimes more), and then I would sometimes ask you to drive the kids to Húsavík for their practises (and I would take them home, because I work in Húsavík).

    Someone open, and isn't afraid to be one of the family with all the tasks that needs to be done :) And with all the tasks that need to be done, I mean helping as well inside the house as well as outside.

    If you have any questions don't hesitate to ask, about the accommodation, the job or just anything :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Icelandic, but me and Jón talk english and the kids talk alittle english, but willing to learn more :)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteer would have their own room. And from time to time, borrow the car to see the surroundings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Not far from Husavik, Asbyrgi, Myvatn, and other beautiful places. Volunteer would be able to get the car from time to time to see places close to us :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day







Host ref number: 692975675732