Help us out on a Scottish Island in the Highlands


United Kingdom


Favourited 1538 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    Madainn mhath! (Welcome in Gaelic) We're Ian and Jess and we live on a small private tidal island connected to the nearby village of Badachro by a floating footbridge. We live here with our three lovely children, aged 13, 11and 4 Ian is the ancestor of the ancient Mackenzie clan, whose family has occupied this island since the 11th century! Jess is from England and moved up to the highlands to join Ian in continuing his family's legacy of sustainable creel fishing in the surrounding waters. We are a lively family always on the move, fishing out at sea, selling our catch at local markets, and hosting visitors in self-catering accommodations on the island. Ian and the kids are always dreaming up new projects around the island, and in our free time, we like to interact with our local community playing Scottish music, going on scenic walks and bike rides to the beach to see the rich wildlife around our home.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Many of our Workaway volunteers come to our home to improve their English. You will have lots of opportunities to learn not only English, but a diverse range of English accents, from Ian's Scottish, Jess's English, and Gaelic from the kids. (Our two oldest daughters are nearly fluent!)

    Our island also offers a great deal of information about Scottish fishing history, and if you wish, coming out with Ian on the boats to see the fishing industry in the UK from a first-hand point of view. Visitors to our Island love learning about the local fishing industry so much that a few years ago we started our business "Shellfish Safaris" to organize professional fishing tours, which you can also experience with us space and weather permitting. We usually go out for tours during the warmer months.

    Outside the island, there is a vibrant local community that makes the absolute best of a rural environment. With weekly Scottish Music jam sessions, a cozy coffee shop, library, community center, and history museum, there is no shortage of activities to involve yourself with. Ian and Jess and all of the kids are active figures in the community and you will be welcomed as if you were a local yourself.

  • Help


    We're looking for self-motivated, driven individuals to help alongside us in taking care of our island, like cutting the grass, painting, trimming back wild paths, and of course, helping us to love and look after our three children. As per the norm with Workaway we require no more than 5 hours of active work for 5 days a week and will offer compensation for any work beyond that should it come up. We are very much an 'around the clock' family so we recommend that Workaways can adapt to a hectic schedule that having a family typically requires. We cannot always actively manage our volunteers so especially for the younger travelers it's very important that you not always wait for us to ask for help, but for you to actively seek out projects and help where you know you can be the most helpful. Please be prepared to give a helping hand not only during the day but also around mealtimes. We love for Workaways to share with us their recipes from home!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some French and a little Gaelic

  • Accommodation


    We offer our Workawayers a small private bedroom in our home with a beautiful view of the sea. Our whole island operates a high-speed wifi connection, Of course, we love for our Workaways to share in all meals with us, as well as to feel at home helping themselves to tea, coffee, and snacks whenever needed. We want you to feel at home and to be a part of our family! We eat a diverse diet of traditional Scottish food like Ian's famous Mince and Tatties, Jess's British curries, and all the cakes and cookies the girls can dream up.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport around Badachro but you can arrive by bus to Gairloch via the Westerbus leaving from Inverness. We will pick you up in the car when you arrive! While you're here you have access to our collection of bikes to get around the area, and we are always commuting to and from nearby Gairloch should you want to hitch rides with us during your free time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 692155785162