Help us with home chores and the garden on the beautiful Bruny Island, Tasmania, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an elderly couple living on a couple of hectares on beautiful Bruny Island, Tasmania. Micky (aka Christa) has had a stroke and is unable to do much...therefore Ian must do most, inside and outside the house..this is why we need some help. Ian is a former journalist and art teacher...and still working artist. Micky is a former kindergartnerin and photographer. We are well travelled, fluent in English and German, plus between us some Italian and Polish. We have an assortment of stringed musical instruments, and two bikes available...Bruny Island has wonderful beaches, great hiking and cycling (hilly, though!)....no pets because we normally travel a lot, but many natives - wallabies, echidnas, quolls and a great assortment of birds! Walking distance from a beach.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    helpers will benefit (and we will as well) from the social interactions - we have lots of interesting experiences between us...music..art..practical stuff (Ian restores old cars)..cooking..we have an assortment of stringed instruments.

  • Help

    Help

    House cleaning, garden chores, fencing, carpentry, mowing (ride-on)...maybe some computer-related help.
    We are easy to get on with and had (before Covid) frequent visitors from Europe.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner
    Polish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We both speak fluent English and German...but practice with Italian, French or Polish would be good!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    caravan or "bunk shed" (2 caravans - both with good cooking facilities) separate toilets. Shared shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bruny Island has wonderful beaches - usually almost empty.. lots of good bushwalking, climbing...bike riding (very hilly!) In case of any misadventure the island has an excellent health centre. Size about the same as Singapore (5 mill.residents), but with only 600 or so permanent residents.. there are lots of holiday homes. regular ferry service to Kettering on the Tasmanian mainland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Huge vans might have a problem with the steep drive

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    cats are not allowed on Bruny...dog fine as long as controlled - (not to run free)....oddities considered.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 3 days a week....seldom more than two days per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 691861356625