Help with Restoration, DIY, permaculture and off-grid systems located in Tomar, Portugal

  • Favourited 11 times
  • Last activity: 6 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a South African couple who moved to Portugal in 2020, We were lucky enough to be able purchase an amazing 30000m2 Indigenous Forest with ancient Cork and Medronho (Strawberry tree).
    We have a small Stone house on the land that we are busy renovating. We are busy turning some of the fields in to a permaculture forest gardens. We are totally off-grid and need help with many different projects on the land and on the house restoration.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about off-grid systems we are totally off grid all our water, grey water, rainwater harvesting systems are in the process of being completed and power comes from solar, we are putting water harvesting systems in on the land. We are building a forest garden and food gardens using permaculture practices. We will be adding chickens and Bees to the land so there is an opportunity to help with these projects. We are using a verity of Eco building practices to improve infrastructure on the land.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in the Forest clearing land, installing swales and fire breaks and with the gardens building soil, planting trees and vegetable gardens . On the house restoration we are installing a new kitchen and bathroom and building a shed and other agricultural support buildings.

  • Languages spoken

    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Dutch: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay on a lovely terrace in the forest surrounded by Cork trees with an incredible view in Camper van and tents with a solar shower and compost toilet.

    I use to be a chef, you will receive 3 balanced meals a day. I am happy to cater for vegetarians or vegans as we do not eat much meat.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a small very friendly dog who loves all dogs. We would prefer not to host cats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 688423663881

Photos

Feedback