French Amazonian Rainforest Town - French Guiana


French Guiana


Favourited 41 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    My name is Nicholas (39) I am the manager of a Bed-and-breakfast/hostel/backpacker (6 rooms dispatched in 3 bungalows, 25 places for hammocks in typical french amerindians huts located in the french Amazonia, in a town called Maripasoula, seeks volunteers to complete the team and share with us and be a part of that new experience of life.
    I have just bought this place few months ago andI am the only operator to manage the site and the staff, a housekeeper, two gardeners and three boat drivers)
    We are located west of French Guiana, on the banks of the Maroni River, which is also the border with Suriname, at the crossroads of two essentials cultures of French Guiana: Amerindians and Bushinengues. we also organize boat trips on the river to discover Amerindian and bushinengue cultures and provide logistic and organization of scientific journey.
    Come join us and discover what life is , in that french part of amazonian rainforest, where you'll meet all the south america's different cultures...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    To live in Maripasoula is a mix of different local and international cultures. Usually, there are more than 50 different ethnic groups living in French Guiana.
    Living in Amazonia is also discovering the fauna and flora of the "lung of the planet". Nothing else to add ... ;-)

  • Help


    Within 4 or 5 hours of duty per day, 5 days a week as needed, with two days off ; for a week, a month or more.
    We need skills in hostel management (operate check-in/check-out, gardening (mowing the grass, cutting plants, picking up dead leaves, support of the 2 main gardeners), fruit picking (limes, orange, mangos, bananas...), housekeeping (laundries, support the maid to clean the 6 rooms for example), Mainly, you'll help out the team already in. Not a big deal truly, mostly a great experience !
    In a first time we need essentially service skills and in a second one (let's say 6 months from now), we'll need buiders, carpenters and skills like that.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, spanish, portugues (brazil), english

  • Accommodation


    15 square meters independent bedroom with a double bed (140x190 cm) in the owner's main house (made of amazonian wood) for free. I must say that the comfort of the house is rustic, simple, unpretentious but pleasant.
    And a complete access to the house, site, garden and private pool.
    We provide 3 meals per day of course.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Host ref number: 687723695634

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more