Enjoy a fabulous summer helping on my cave property in Huescar, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello fellow explorers,
    I’m Elaine.
    I’m British /Australian, well travelled, single, mid 50’s, & loving life in this stunningly beautiful altiplano area of Andalucia, in my casa-cueva, in the rural town of Huescar, Just an easy 10- 15minute walk from the town centre,
    Yes, that’s right, it’s a cave house. (Technically casa-cueva as the upper area is not entirely cave. Think cool sanctuary with mod conveniences).
    I love my daily swim to cool off in the local freshwater ‘fuencaliente’ pool, 5mins drive, or a longer spectacular walk .. or bike ride.
    I volunteer with the local dog charity. (Volunteers always appreciated, but it’s not an expected part of this work away position) & occasionally I may have a foster fur baby at home, but I love the birds & lizards sanctuary of the garden.
    This is my first post for workaways, needed asap, due to last minute cancellations. I need help with general neglected maintenance, plenty of painting, garden & yard work, moving things around, & DIY projects in this little oasis.
    I love a range of music & dancing, (thanks Alexa) but also love the peace here, & the background noise of spain in a cave house community; traditional singing & clapping, birds, dogs, chickens, bells of passing goats & sheep, exercising Andalucian horses, & even the bangs of fiesta announcements.
    I meditate, need to do more yoga & get my fitness up more, need to improve my spanish, Always learning.
    So, Are you ready to join me for a wonderful summer?

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Surrounded by mountains, in an area of many hidden cave houses, it’s just a 15 minute easy walk into the centre of this old, established, traditionally walled rural town of Huéscar.
    Influences of moorish, castilian & muslim rule are evident in the buildings, squares, churches, streets & various watch towers, & the Torre del Homenaje & museum are definitely worth a visit. Seeped in a very special history there is much to learn here, but just sit outside with a perfect coffee or cold drink & tapas & you will be immersed in the culture.
    Huéscar has multiple bars & restaurants, around 5 supermarkets, chemist, health centre, everything expected of a small town & there are buses from the town centre.
    There is a public chlorinated pool in town, as well as my daily visit favourite, ‘fuencaliente’ ground water fed pool, & sports centres & gyms. The bull ring is often used for events such as Andalucian horse shows, flamenco, or other music events & movies. There are usually numerous summer outdoor events of music, medieval night markets & of course numerous religious fiestas.
    The nearest cave restaurant bar is a few minutes walk from the house. Step out the gate to spectacular walks. Lots of quite different villages a short drive away, Galera 10 mins drive .. Orce 15, mins, Cullar 20mins, Castillejar 20 mins, larger Baza & its Sunday Rastro market 45 mins away. Mountain La Sagra, or easier Encantada, to conquer if you like. San clemente & Castril waters to explore. Buses leave from the town centre.
    Huéscar is just over 1hrs drive to Granada, or 2 hrs to Murcia coast & around 2 & a half hrs to Alicante. Airport pick up also a possibility.

  • Help

    Help

    I’m looking for 2 - 4, practical & easy going workaways immediately to help on my cave house. English or spanish speaking only please ( my Spanish language needs improving).
    Hours will be 4-5 hrs a days, 5 days a week, or equivalent hrs a week. Days & hours will be a good balance between the times that suit what you want to do & the logistical requirements for the tasks, (eg no painting outside when it’s too hot in the sun, etc.) Or if you want longer times off you could do a few longer days, so between 20-25 hrs a week.
    - You will need to be physically capable, & expect to get dirty. Nothing highly technical, or consistently heavy weight. Any skills you have will be put to good use though. There are plenty of minor repairs, lots of cleaning, preparation, lots of painting, re-organising, shelving, tiles replaced, organising sheds, tending the garden & roof hill, & yard work. Some concrete in yard? Ceiling insulation tin roof? Fencing of roof hill? DIY projects. Reduce, re-use, recycle, where possible, & environmental care.
    We will be doing general neglected maintenance as well as some improvements while we enjoy this spectacular summer.
    Most importantly you’ll be easy to communicate with, able to take instructions if its a task new to you, not afraid to ask for help if you need it, let me know immediately if anything goes wrong &able to enjoy doing what you're doing right now.
    The usual fair share of the domestic necessities of life (ie cleaning, help with food shopping, prep, washing up) are of course expected in addition to job hours for a happy harmonious cave.

    Possible additional opportunities - (lets talk re hrs )
    Help with setting up a local community art project?
    Help me get more tech & social media savvy.
    Volunteer with PAU charity, working directly with the dogs at the shelter, or fundraising activities.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I live here in Spain & want to improve my spanish language! It is probably a little better than beginner but any native spanish speaking workaways are very welcome. I’m a native english speaker, so if you want to improve your english, contáctame ahora.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Describing a cave house is difficult , but Workaways will have their own cool cave bedroom, or theres an additional ‘non cave’ part of the house. There are 2 bathrooms, both with showers, & a good open plan cooks kitchen. Plenty of space outside too, a large covered terrace & other chill out areas among the figs. Smoking ok outside only. For the sanity of all of us, keep up your share of the domestic cleaning.
    Excellent fast wifi throughout the entire property.
    Depending on what we’re doing I’d like to have at least one shared meal each day, I’ll cook, but it would be great if you can too. Help with food prep & clean up expected.
    I’ll supply all basic daily food, except for eating out - maybe occasional menu del dia, & your own ‘treats’, otherwise help yourself from the kitchen, eat well, as healthy as you choose, & enjoy.
    I’m mainly veggie, but ok with meat being cooked & any special dietary requirements (I’m gluten free).
    Huescar has a fabulous local produce Thursday ‘seminal’ market too.
    Too much more to mention… Just ask

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Summer is Hot! … but the water is cool& so is the cave.
    Covid restrictions, like everywhere are fluid, but currently 0 cases in June so far. Hooray. (I have had my 2nd vaccine). We have had several town border lockdowns, if it happens again this isnt a bad place to be. Health Centre in town & Local hospital is Baza 40mins away if necessary. Good public health system.
    Mask wearing is compulsory outside, everyone complies, or fines are hefty. However there are huge open spaces where you will pass very few people ..
    Be prepared for siestas & spanish times.
    Everything closed from 2pm to 5pm (apart from restaurants serving fabulous ‘menu del días’)
    & the town comes alive in the evenings, often till early hours of the morning.
    This is a truly unique stunning area visually & culturally, & its my pleasure to help you get what you want most from your stay, whatever that may be.
    What are you waiting for?

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    A huge benefit to living here is that I have excellent fast unlimited wifi THROUGHOUT the property. (see that post on top of the mountain) office chairs and the space to work in. I don’t currently have paid work on line, but definitely looking at options.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Large Secure garage if needed, but usually park outside the property. Tarmac road to the door.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I would consider a workaway with a pet other than dogs or cats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 686687562182