Help a 72-year-old islander to grow herbs on our property on Isla Colon, Panama

Country

Panama

Favourited 102 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Delfina, a wonderful 72yr old local islander is growing herbs, flowers and plants in order to support herself and her family. Delfina has lived on the island her entire life and is a wealth of great stories and information. She is looking for someone to help her with her gardening and to help her with the heavy lifting and is willing to help teach Spanish to anyone who can help her with her greenhouse business.

    Her garden is set inside of our family run rental business property consisting of 6 houses built over the water connected to each other by wooden walkways. Other projects on the property include a plastic bottle collection point, a glass bottle collection point both of which are to be used in projects on the property. We are also doing upcycle projects on the property including a broken mosiac wall.

    In exchange for living rent free in one of the 6 over the water houses, we request our volunteers to help Delfina in the garden, assist us with water sport rentals and help us to keep the properties clean. We have three local staff members who help us with all the work on the property and are looking for volunteers who can share their time and knowledge with everyone here to create something unique and special for the whole neighborhood.

    The property has been organically growing for over 23 years and we look forward to finding helpful, engaging people who can come and enjoy our little piece of paradise. We are ideally looking for people willing to commit for 3 month or longer so that Delfina can really get to know them with a 2 week trial to ensure that they are a good fit with Delfina.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Help with Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit from working with Delfina, our herb lady who is one of the original residents of our bay along with dealing with guests from around the world and learning how we live as islanders. We have a range of projects on the property to combat the garbage issue on the island including plastic bottle and glass bottle collection in order to repurpose them. Our homes are built over the water, so there is a lot to learn about life over the water along with gardening and exchange of language skills.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with a range of projects on the property including helping our 72 yr old herb garden partner with growing plants and herbs for her to sell. We also want help with cleaning our houses and the occasional shift helping with our sports gear and bike rental business a few hours a week. Our volunteers are also offered the use of kayaks, sups, bicycles and snorkeling gear to enjoy anytime, just as we all do on the property.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a private bedroom in one of our authentic over the water houses, with bathroom and fully equipped kitchen. Linens and towels are provided and washing once a week is provided. There is a communal deck that is available for our guests and volunteers which has spectacular views across the bay. We do not provide meals, but you have access to the herbs grown on the property to use in your cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we have kayaks, stand up paddle boards, bikes and snorkeling gear on the property for rent, these items are free for our volunteers to use when our guests are not making use of them. The house is around 200 meters from the beach and is within walking distance of town. There are many great things to do on the islands, including exploring other islands, visiting beaches, diving and just relaxing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day 5 days a week


Host ref number: 685736137163