Get inspired and interested in permaculture, share ideas in our organic gardens or on the earth building site in Coromandel, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three generations living together. We have thriving organic gardens, are currently building with earth. We have some big projects on and looking for people that love working, who are inspired and interested in permaculture, sharing ideas, and can go with whatever is happening each day in regards to the projects and meeting the needs of everyone. We have a huge project at the moment and need people that can work both with others and independently. We have hosted people for over 40 people and really enjoy people.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have hosted people from around the world for over 40 years. We offer staying in a very beautiful and quite piece of land. We share two meals a day. (or by arrangement if needed something other) There are opportunities to learn about permaculture in action. There could be opportunities to participate in other projects going on in the local community. You will be mostly working with others, sharing conversations, ideas and laughs.

  • Help

    Help

    Kia ora. Currently we are in the middle of building a small home with earth. We need at least 2 people who are willing to learn, follow instructions, work independently and with others, happy to get muddy (working with clay). You will learn all aspects of earth building form framing, creating the walls, and the two types of plastering to finish it.
    With everyone very busy on different aspects of this project, the odd bit of cooking and helping out in general household ways would be great too. We need people from now onwards.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer both lovely tent sites and shared accommodation. Your own bedding is best, but can arrange bedding if needed. We have mattresses and pillows. We have compost toilets and solar electricity.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are stunning clean beaches and walks just down the road. Lots of opportunities for lush river swims and lots of interesting people around too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    WE have a few nice places to park up in a van.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)





Host ref number: 683873829258