Little family looking for help with household in Rhein-Main-Area near Frankfurt, Germany



Favourited 51 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

  • Description


    Hi there! My name is Ruth and I live with my son and our three cute cats in a big house with a nice garden near Frankfurt in a town with 60.000 inhabitants. My daughter and my mother-in-law live next to us.
    We live close to Frankfurt, Wiesbaden, Darmstadt and Mainz, where you can see a lot! Sights, museums, The Rhein and Main River, parcs, and more.
    I work fulltime and my children are studying and working so we don't have much time for all the things that need to be done in the house and the garden. I love my garden and put a lot of work and effort in it. So I need help in the house and in the garden, for example chopping wood, watering plants, cutting grass, feeding the cats, cleaning, gardening, and so on.
    I'm 63 years old and my children are 23 and 22. I work as a administration employee at the government office for youth welfare and love my job. But I have so many things to do and less time so I would be happy for everyone coming to help us. :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Because I don't have so much time for travelling I often stay at home in my garden, so I would be very happy to meet new people from all over the world, listen to their experience, where they come from, what they do. My daughter travellled with workaway a couple of years ago in New Zealand and was very happy with this sort of cultural exchange. We have a really nice garden, it's like holiday, so you can relax in your free time. We also have a piano, so if you want to play, feel free to do it! Furthermore we have a lot of books. If you have any questions, feel free to ask us, we always help you and try to answer them! Besides, it's always a pleasure to improve language skills, for example english and french!

  • Help


    The tasks are not very hard. It's about cleaning the house, gardening, watering plants, chopping wood, feeding the cats - just everything around the house and garden. It depends on the season you stay here. :-)
    Together we can do it!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You have your own bedroom with a double bed, a desk and a wardrobe. You will share a bathroom with us. We have two bathrooms and two livingrooms and two TVs there, so you can watch TV alone if you want. We like sitting on our dining table together, eating dinner, talking or playing games. But you have your privacy in your bedroom if you want to be alone! :-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Mainz, Darmstadt, Wiesbaden and Frankfurt is very close to us, so you can see a lot there. These cities can be reached by train in 10-30 minutes. It's worth seeing it! Shopping, museums, Main Tower, Sachsenhausen, Frankfurt Old City, and much more. We always help you with organization and planning your trip. Just ask. :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 679771212522