Help us become self sufficient in Seggiano, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 2139 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    48  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2021

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my name is Massimo and I do not know anything although I sometimes pretend to know something! Some years ago I decided to change life (my formation is as engineer and multimedia designer) and moved to the countryside to have more time for me, spiritual practice and a better quality of life.

    The farm is situated on the foothills of Monte Amiata, an area famous for its olive oil. Mount Amiata is the old , exhausted volcano of Tuscany and also its highest mountain. The farm, abandoned in the 50s has been reclaimed in the past years and covers an area of 6 ha of woodland and olive grove. I try to apply the principles of permaculture and synergic agriculture working the land. The buildings have been restored using green techniques and the farm is self sufficient in energy from photovoltaic solar panels. The aim is to become as self sufficient as possible, but without stress... ;-)


    I love travelling and visiting new places: as I have often been a guest myself I have a certain flexibility based on kindness and intend to apply these principles to the guests here. You are welcome!
    Italian, English, French and Spanish spoken.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I consider exchange depends mainly upon two factors: openness of mind and availability to share.

    When this two aspects are present, mutual exchange and enrichment can take many forms, depending on the particular situation and the people involved. What I mean here is that the content of the exchange is secondary to the experience itself.

    In practice, however, travellers could learn about being sustainable, living in the countryside, growing vegetables, maintenance, pruning olive trees and collecting olives, Italian cooking and many other everyday's things that belong to be more in contact with Nature. I have also two very nice cats ;)

    Every kind of cultural interest is welcome for discussion and mutual enrichment. I have been involved in the technical area (electronic engineer), then the more artistic-related (multimedia, documentary, sound) and humanistic to end up with sustainable agricolture, permacolture and environment.

  • Help

    Help

    In General:
    Help is needed (I will try to work alongside you as much as possible) in the vegetable garden, harvesting fruits, olives, herbs, making jams and spiced salts, collecting firewood, watering, little maintenance, taking care of the garden, cleaning, help in the house and with guests.
    Please note that work can change according to season and circumstances, if you are concerned by that just ask :-)

    There are always plenty of projects going on: examples range from building a compost toilet, a fence, putting an irrigation system in the garden, etc. etc... :)

    After helping you will be able to explore the surroundings, villages, nearby natural hotsprings (bring a swimming suit!) etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in the house, in a room with bathroom, in a tent by the river (which you can also swim in) depending on availability.
    About meals: we begin the day with breakfast about 8:30 in the morning and we have lunch at 14.30. I do not normally eat in the evenings so I do not usually cook dinner but you are free to use the kitchen and the food in the fridge to cook your dinner of course!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    NOTE about your staying: every time different people gather here to help on the development of the site a new, little, temporary family is formed; this is beautiful and can enrich all who participate : you are welcome as a part of this family but this implies taking care about some normal house duties when living together that are EXTRA from the work done otherwise; this implies collaborating in:
    -cooking
    -washing the dishes (we have a dishwasher too ;))
    -keeping the house clean
    -cleaning your room at departure
    We are all collaborating with different mansions and have the same right to rest! ;)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Desk and wifi available

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    area with electricity and water available

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    have to be arranged since I have a cat

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5hrs /day

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)































Host ref number: 679355215249