Help out with our horses, and vintage trailer and home restorations on a hobby farm, in Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 77 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four, living on a hobby farm two hours from Ottawa. We have 6 other kids (and 3 grandkids!) who live nearby or withing a couple hours drive. Our farm is the 'hub' of family gatherings. We are a traditional Catholic family, respectful of differing religious and political views, and we expect the same in return.

    Music is an important part of our life. You might catch us singing while doing the dishes or around the campfire, and our youngest daughters (16, 18) both love music and play guitar, piano, and some wind instruments.

    Alison has recently finished 4 years of study in Business Marketing and Communications and Project Management. She is currently working from home for a local company, but her entrepreneurial spirit has her planning and scheming ways of creating revenue streams for the farm. One of her current projects is renovating vintage trailers to rent out as accomodations on the farm, while incorporating 'farm experiences' into the offering. (Yes! We need help to do this!)

    Nick is a certified Driving Instructor, but with the ongoing lockdowns, he's been busy working on 'farm stuff'. He and a buddy have a small lumber milling business, (mostly for personal use), but they do small custom orders when asked. Nick has a workshop half built, and he is helping his friend build a cottage on our property. So, there are always projects on the go!

    We have few horses, and in the past, have hosted equine therapy programs for individuals of all ages, where we focus on mental emotional well-being, using natural horsemanship techniques. The programs were put on hold for the past couple years, but we hope to get them going again once the lockdown is over. We also have sheep, a goat, and will be adding a few more animals to the farm, for the purpose of growing our own meat for the family.

    We like to have a small garden to enjoy seasonally. We like to eat healthy, home cooked meals that include meat, and consider it important to prepare and eat meals together. We love home baked goodies! In the spring, summer and fall, evenings are often spent outdoors, enjoying life on the farm. In the winter, you will usually find us watching movies, reading or crafting in our spare time.

    Nick is of Dutch heritage, so learning more about that part of the world will be meaningful to our kids. Alison lived in Peru as child, and has returned there a couple times to do missionary work in recent years. Hablas espanol?

    Our home is fairly big, a charming log house, (typical historical Canadiana) so there are on-going renovation and restoration projects. That never ends! Our 4 dogs and cat are welcome indoors, so please consider this if you have allergies. We have a decent internet connection, which suffices for the demands of our family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located 45 minutes east of Algonquin Park, and close to a Polish cultural community. The nearest town is one of the most diverse tiny communities you will find in Ontario, and very welcoming. There are several other provincial parks within a reasonable drive, and 2 hours from the nations capital, where there is plenty to explore. The historical buildings at Parliament Hill, the Ottawa River system and Rideau canal, the diverse multicultural communities in the area, and much more.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to have someone who most importantly, willing to interact and be a mentor to the kids, somewhat interested in horses, and preferable with some experience, to help with their maintenance and care. It would be great if the individual has digital marketing and youtube (vlogging) experience.

    We are hoping that our workaday guest will assimilate into our family with no drama, and unreasonable expectations, and help with the ordinary daily routine.

    Illegal drugs are not used nor are welcome here. We are non-smokers and occasional social drinkers. I see other profiles with lengthy do and don'ts, which I don't feel compelled to do.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small private bedroom, shared everything else.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off, you would benefit from having a vehicle, but it is not required. There is no public transportation, but there is a great community ride share board on social media, where finding a ride to any destination locally, or Ottawa is possible. When able, we would be glad to get you where you need to go. Or you can just hang out and enjoy the farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have places to park campers and trailers.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 677984482159