Help with eco-gardening and preparing for parties in Sola, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 253 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/07/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We've renovated a big old green house and given it a new life, by hosting weddings and other parties. Growing vegetables in small scale, and taking care of plants and nature. Sharing our knowledge with others. We are developing new methods for a more natural and sustainable way of agriculture.
    This is a great place to stay. 7 minutes from Stavanger airport, 2 minutes to the center of Sola, 12 minutes to Stavanger, and 7 min to Sandnes, - if you travel by car. Our region is one of the most beautiful and visited in Norway, with old history to show, and breathtaking nature. Mentioning Pulpit Rock, Kjeragbolten, Lysefjorden, Florlitrappene, beautiful beaches and peaceful countryside nearby.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a worker you will benefit in many ways by being here. We will learn you about the Norwegian culture, history, get new friends and experience good times. We will show you some of the important and nice places in our region. Our work is important for us, and we will share information and knowledge with you when you stay here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with the garden and surrounding areas, both in- and outdoor. We are "cleaning up" the place, since parts of it has been neglected for a while. So handy-work, cleaning, organizing and making systems etc will be good.
    We also need an extra pair of hands (or two) in preparing for parties, - and as a waiter? People who are interested in nature, and to learn how to grow their own vegetables etc, will enjoy spending time here. We have our own gardner, who has hosted a radioprogram for 16 years about gardening and how the nature works. He is a great teacher.
    We have a big focus on building healthy eco-soil, and have many exciting test-projects.
    We will be able to pay a low wage in money, but a lot in excitements and knowhow.
    We are looking for people who like to be part of a team and love to see the value and difference their effort makes. If your interests match ours, you will gain more from your stay.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will get a room in the house, and stay with the family. There is also another option, you might be able to stay in a micro-hut in the garden if you would prefer that. In the household we are a couple (56 and 62), but also other family members can come and stay for periodes. We are a social family, :) and will have most meals together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can offer bikes to use if you want to get around. Do you want to travel further, there are easy access to train, bus and plane from our place. There are plenty of beautiful and historical places to see, both in the city of Stavanger, the islands and beaches nearby, some of Norway's most famous hikes like Prekestolen and Kjeragbolten, lakes and fjords where you can do kayaking, - and an old monastery to visit. And much more!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Up to 7 hour days, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 677641149583